Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Neanderthal Twins

by RegularSlinky - 48 Hour Compo Entry

THE WEB PLAYER LINK SHOULD NOW BE FIXED :)

This was my first LD48 so Im just happy that I managed to finish something. It lacks a lot of polish and artistic direction because I made the choice to concentrate on making it playable first. Im glad I did, but one of my big regrets is not managing to create 2 different player sprites. I used a cheap re-colour to fix this and make it more playable.

Use your mouse buttons to play. Each click makes a different player jump. Reach the end to win. Watch out for portals as they will swap player positions.

Controls:
Left and Right mouse buttons
or left ctrl/alt

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#170Humor3.11
#316Theme3.57
#357Fun3.27
#534Graphics3.13
#596Overall3.17
#691Audio2.45
#810Innovation2.82
#829Mood2.67
#1542Coolness41%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:55am

Can you provide the public link directly to the Unity HTML page on your dropbox?

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:56am

On the web player i got this message:
""Built with beta version of Unity. Will only work on your computer!""
I installed the windows version instead and that rund fine.
At first i though bah an endless runner but the two characters in seperate lanes and specially when they switch is a nice twist. The screenshake is a bit too much for me though.

ZirconCode says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Awesome gameplay, good speed and challenge, very frustrating when they start switching (in a good way). Nice Screen Shake!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Congrats on your game! Oh man this is a challenging but very fun little game. I really want to be better at it but the portals screw with my stupid brain too badly and I always die soon after. That's no fault of the game mind you! Solid gameplay and mechanics that fits in really well with the theme, the only thing I didn't like was the screen shake seemed a little heavy handed to me and a backing track would have helped set the mood a bit more. Cheers, Ben.

panurge says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Frustrating but in a good way - I kept going back for one more try. I actually quite like the screenshake and everything else worked beautifully. Great visuals, sounds (although yes, a backing track would be awesome), gameplay and mood. Excellent!

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Good work! The main annoyance for me is that the context menu comes up when right clicking in the web player. I don't know if it's possible to restrict that or not. Anyway congrats on finishing a game! :)

neipo13 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Very cool concept, would love to see this further fleshed out!

mutuware says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Needs more screenshake.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Solid entry. Well done. Liked the Megaman inspired jump frame. Devious to flip the character on the second level after I'm used to the controls :) Bug? On my Mac, the RMB brings up a menu in the browser, so I had to default to keyboard. Challenging game.

RegularSlinky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Thanks for the comments, guys. I need to look into disabling that menu with right clicks.
George: The stream was fun. I hope you'll be doing it again in December.

Axebane says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Challenging yet fun game. Good work!

pinion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Love that title screen.

My brain just can't process the game apparently though - I never made it past the pit/spike.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Cool - Real nice pace to the game. Quite difficult switching between buttons and working out where to concentrate(specially with a touchpad)

Linusson says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Wow, it gets hard when the controls get flipped. :D But a fun little game. I liked the screen shaking on the countdown. :)

I also get a menu on the right mouse button.

A score / high score function would be nice. But as my score would have been bad I can live without it. ;)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Hi there. Good fun, but I was very bad at it, sons not here and cats refused to play. Nice smooth jumping and animation. Nice pixelart and chiptunes. Good job!

ncannasse says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Toooo haaaarddd :)

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Love the difficulty curve - nice take on the connected worlds theme. Great job!

uvwar says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Screenshake was making me a little sick, probably combined with the slight slowdown I was getting in-browser. I also wish you could hold down the jump and get a different arc or something, as now you need to time your jumps perfectly or its pointless-you can't make the distance. Very nice first game, though!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:28am

hahaha nice funny game, it was hard though when passing through portals to adjust to the change. Great take on the theme and simple yet effective game mechanics. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]