Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Death Facility

by Yanthir - 48 Hour Compo Entry

If you don't get the point: WASD to move, LMB to punch, RMB to shoot. I suggest focusing on clearing the lamps and discs and ignoring the small ghosts.

I am aware of a bug that causes bullets to disappear on rare occasions, but I am unable to find any solution so you'll have to bear with it ;)

Powerup Legend:
Brown with bullets - Reload
Grey with a bullet - Clip Size Increase
Blue with a boot - Speed Increase
Green with a heart - Health Refill
Purple with heart and a plus - Max Health Increase
Orange with a skull - Damage Increase

I also know some of you might not be able to run this game. If it is the case, please don't put a rate on it. Thank you :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#229Mood3.41
#465Audio2.83
#524Graphics3.14
#811Fun2.75
#816Overall2.95
#891Theme2.71
#945Innovation2.60
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

TheThirdOne says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Please update your link to say Windows instead of Web. You published a rar file with an exe; that can only be played on windows.

Yanthir says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Thanks for the note, did not notice that :P

jomomomo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:07am

Can't play windows games. :-(

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:43am

I think the top-down-aim-with-the-mouse thing only really works in full-screen games, but I could be wrong. I kept accidentally clicking off of the game and getting "Ghosted".

I like the effort put into this game. The punch animation needs some work, and the power-ups need to be more apparent as to what they do (the skull on the orange background didn't kill me, nor did it kill everything on screen... what did it do?). Overall I found this enjoyable and I think with work it can become something very special.

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:14pm

A bit hard to avoid all those ghost, but nice graph. A reset button would be very usefull for me !

Yanthir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:17pm

The game wasn't supposed to be easy in the first place. If it was easy you'd just beat it and go on. It is beatable, after some practice I can reliably beat it, takes some skill thoough.

Thank you for playing btw. I really appreciate it ;)

IcyLava says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Interesting idea, a bit hard for me too though.

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:19pm

The game looks fun. I have played through a few times but always gets swarmed and die.

I loved the graphics of the game. The tiles looked really cool as well as the long body ghosts. The background was really nice.

My problem was that the powerups were REALLY tiny and I can barely make out what is that there. Even when you had the list in the description checking the icons on a tiny circle isn't really good for your health when you are chased by 10-15 ghosts.

The only thing I found a bit annoying is the walking speed I was really slow and I had loads of lamps/green stuff to light and I am being chased by ghosts that some of which shoot a constant stream of bullets. So it wasn't quite a nice feeling there.

All in all though it was fun and I liked it.

Good work and well done :D

Yanthir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:10pm

I really don't like that ghosts group up in one place. I'd have changed their AI if I had more time. Błąd you enjoyed it though :)

Yanthir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Wow, that was supposed to say "Glad"

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:29am

Interesting game. I also found it quite challenging.

Tanser says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:07am

Looks good and the sounds are great addition.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Wasn't sure if I could actually kill things or not... was tough to figure out if I was making progress. It was a bit too dark too, although that does go with the game's theme. Overall nice work for the compo!

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Found the movement a tad slow and the shooting buggy. Otherwise, though, it was a nice and surprisingly complete-looking game. Not sure about the relation to the theme, but, even then, nice job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]