Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Invertigo

by H1S2 - Jam Entry

Invertigo is a music based 2D game in which you have to control two Characters simultaneously. The protagonists come from different worlds and try to get together. Will you be able to unite them?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#92Graphics(Jam)4.19
#137Theme(Jam)3.68
#225Innovation(Jam)3.33
#226Overall(Jam)3.43
#235Mood(Jam)3.36
#252Humor(Jam)2.74
#270Audio(Jam)3.32
#318Fun(Jam)3.14

Comments

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:38am

can you make a linux build, please?

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:40am

Beautiful visuals and fun music!

Maxium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:46am

I really enjoyed this, It's a cool concept! I didn't actually ever manage to get to the end because I'm just awful; the jumping feels sluggish to me. I really like the inverted limbo-esque art style.

H1S2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:54am

We just uploaded a Linux Version. It should be ready in a moment. We had no time to test it on Linux so your feedback is very appreciated.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:02am

Oh man - I really wanted to see the end of this game, but it was just too difficult. And not in a rewarding, "I finally did it!" kind of way, but more of a "o.m.g., it won't do what I want it to do" way. I think it's a beautiful game, but I really want more responsive controls.

Also, I thought the sound was at odds with the graphics. The graphics are beautiful and moody and the sound is just a completely different style.

I hope my critiques are not too direct - it's only because this game inspired me greatly with its potential! Thank you for sharing, I really did enjoy what I saw.

kewry says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:19am

Really beautiful game and fun/hard concept

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:05am

Hey, in the linux version, somehow you uploaded directories with different case, "invertigo_linux_1.0alpha_data" and "Invertigo_Linux_1.0alpha_Data", for example, and are considered to different directories on linux filesystem, moving their content to the main one made the game work

lakael says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:46am

The jumping was difficult but the concept is really awesome!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:47am

This has been one of my favorites so far. It was fun and challenging!

SarahFrisk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:47am

Love the art! The game is fun too, I just wish I wasn't so bad at jumping :-/

Stepwise says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:51am

Great graphics and look! I hacked at it a couple of times but dying was just so demoralizing. :( Would have been nice to get more wiggle room for the jumps! Couldn't finish though I wanted to see what was at the end pretty bad...

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:20am

The visuals remind me very much of limbo. The music is good.

hogtrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:09am

Very nice looking game

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Reminded me of Bit Trip Runner meets Limbo, but I think the music and visuals were too disparate and didn't complement each other very well.

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:56am

fantastic work! loved the visual effect of the inverted color schemes, and the characters running toward each other. the background effect details were a great touch. I just wish that there were checkpoints!

leafarz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:24pm

great music. and also liking the visuals!
although the game should be simple, it's quite hard especially when you are playing 2!
good job! beautiful game btw. :D

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:44pm

It's a decent game, I enjoyed playing it, some of those jumps are actually pretty tough!

H1S2 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Cheers guys! We really appreciate your feedback and are already working on a new version that we will publish with more (and easier) levels and improved jumping after the voting is over!

everystone says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:04am

Great! nice art, cool gameplay, really hard! sadly I didn't have patience to make it to the end

ATTA Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Pretty hard. Great entry.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:12pm

The graphics were great, but rather at odds with the audio. Difficulty was probably a bit too high with the rather unforgiving collision boxes and the random frame-rate tanking.

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Had hard time renaming folders due to Linux case-sensitivity ;p. I always wanted to make similar game ;D (like two characters controlled at once on 2 different maps). I also loved the Limbo feeling!

fil00dl says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:59pm

nice graphics and very challenging

SiMouth says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:02pm

It's great, but we need checkpoints. Music loop is a bit too annoying if we want to have a long run.
But you mastered the Limbo-inspired graphics !

thedashdude says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Fun, short jump, I would have preferred it longer, but still good.

igoramendola says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Ohhh... it's similar to mine, but yours is more complex. In addition, it's harder hehehe. Actually, it was hard to finish, but thanks to the tree I could finish each one separately :P
Cool game and it has nice graphics/animations. I liked ;)

Manou says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:28am

Lovely gfx.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Great use of white and black, the guy reminded me of Limbo. It would be even better with more forgiving jump controls. Neat graphics and catchy tune. Great job!

Aglavra says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:37pm

I really liked the design of the game, how backgrounds and all detaild were drawn, but the controls was a bit unresponsive, and this made the game too difficult.

Ramiel says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Very stylish game. I really like the use of contrast.
The music was good but in my opinion didn't fit with the graphics.
And the game is really hard if you don't use the tree trick. But that's not a bad thing. ;)

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Interesting game. I liked the graphics. It's a bit difficult (for me at least) to watch and control both sides.

Rehacked says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:04am

Good game but very hard cuz of collision checking and dying so many times.

Lvyn says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Great entry but hard, I guess my eyes aren't wide enough :D

eatsleepindie says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:20am

I had a freakin blast playing this game! Bookmarked to keep coming back for more. Great graphics, catchy music, and that mechanic was easy to pick up but got challenging quick. Awesome work.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:26am

Great art and fun entry, although really difficult. Music worked well and I liked the way as you played on you learnt what was coming and slowly made it forward further.

local minimum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:48pm

I love the graphics, and the controls we easy enough. It was hard though. Hard enough only jumping correct when one side needed jumping and impossible for me when both needed attention. But I enjoyed it as far as I got. I would consider giving them a little larger jump-margin to make it easer for the player or have very clear jump queues in the music for each side.

bluesky says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:36pm

I'm very impressed with the gameplay, well done.

H1S2 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:58pm

thanks for the great helpful feedback. we try to implement all usefull suggestions into our upcoming version for multiple devices! stay tuned: http://gamejolt.com/games/other/invertigo/33216/

klianc09 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:15pm

I like the music, I just wish I could hear more from it than the beginning, which brings me to my next point. This game desperately needs checkpoints, it's too hard. I was not able to bring up the ambition to complete it.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 5:43pm

I think the music dosn't mach so well with the graphics, which try too much to mimick Limbo, Gameplay is solid, nice entry

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Nice visuals. I did pretty well till I had to look back and forth <_<

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]