Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

TETHER

by datacr4sh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The momentum of two worlds chained between two souls. Press jump as a runner lands to jump higher.

TETHER was made by Shane Rypers (@datacr4sh) for the 48h draw of LD30.

Music made in Bosca Ceoil, SFX in sfxr, art in PDN, game in Unity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#55Theme4.00
#67Fun3.82
#80Overall3.82
#149Innovation3.76
#241Audio3.27
#253Mood3.36
#430Humor2.52
#430Graphics3.28

Comments

gandalf1209 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:14am

Really cool! Graphics honestly don't matter to me if the game is this fun! 9.5/10! .5 isn't there because there wasn't an explanation to how the game works, but it's really easy to figure out, so there's really no reason to have that in there :D

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:17am

this is really cool. i like the balancing act of trying to get each player high enough to overcome the obstacles by getting a momentum going. i also really like the death sequence :P

gandalf1209 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:26am

Very good!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:48am

Interesting concept and minimalist environement - I like it. I don't understand how I can pass through the big obstacles but I like these little guys. Bravo and Thank you ++

Beard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Great interpretation. I like the idea, and the game is fun too!

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Very clever game mechanics. I enjoyed playing this one.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Cool game. I included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/WU8AB6IzBac

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:05pm

thanks for all the positive feedback so far! this was an experiment in teaching a mechanic with a mimimal amount of hand holding, i'm glad so many people are able to figure out the momentum jumping so easily :)

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Easy to learn, yet challenging to play. Great work!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Interesting idea, especially the jump-mechanics. Very hard.

dadman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Awesome! I could play this for days.

dadman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Awesome! I could play this for days.
A few more check points would be nice though. Still getting 5/5!!

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Really cool game. Would be nice with more checkpoints because this game is quite unforgiving.

Donar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Great concept. Simple but challanging and well presented.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Hey there. Love the graphics, including the play|replay and death, death, chainbreak sequence. Great sound. Good job!

Konrad Zegis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21pm

I really love that chain breaking effect after losing, and sounds. It reminds me of old NES games ;)

joonamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Overall excellent package! The minimalist style continues even outside the game to the web page, nice touch.

UmbraTilde says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:58am

Tons of fun, although you make the player hit the ground running. Quite addictive.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:12am

Cool game mechanic and interesting use of theme

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:20am

That was pretty awesome. I liked the concept, the mechanic was fun and executed well. It was a bit punishing once you got to the crazy parts of the game, I felt like I had to go back way too far, and it stopped being fun.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:19am

I found it quite tricky, but then again I'm terrible at anything involving platforms :) Loved the interpretation of the theme.

syawqy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16pm

HAAARD....

nikki93 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Fun game! A little annoying some times but that just means I suck at it lol. I like how the website has the color theme too.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Cool music! The mechanics are really fun, but also a little difficult to master. But I'm sure if I played this long enough, I would get really good.

Otrora says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:42am

I keep playing and keep dying and keep playing. Well implemented and very addictive.

rRootagea says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:59am

The good kind of challenging! Really enjoyed the visual style.

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:35am

Wow. Love the mechanic, the art, the difficulty balanced(no pun intended) enough to be addicting. This is a really good entry. Didn't make it very far though.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:14am

Very cool game, it's very hard ! I love that challenge x)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:17am

Cool mechanics! I also really liked how you designed the website to fit the colours in the game. Great job!

lekochen says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Solid mechanics.

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:45am

the death sequence of the chain breaking is perfect! haha, nice game + mechanics! also, that's a nice color scheme you have going for the game.

hbocao says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:07pm

I really enjoyed this! Very cool mechanics. I only didn't liked the death "animation". Took to long and to much effort to retry. Awesome entry, man!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]