Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connect the Bridges

by GameDevExtreme - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A fast paced strategy game about connecting the worlds with bridges.

Connect the different planets with bridges, and upgrade them to avoid their destruction, but build your bridges wisely so people will use them! Don't let your money run out or you will loose!

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#189Theme3.75
#498Humor2.41
#634Innovation3.06
#918Audio1.82
#970Fun2.54
#985Overall2.75
#996Mood2.39
#1037Graphics2.29

Comments

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:09am

It is really an interesting concept creating bridges between the world. It sounded really fun.

I started the game and it was quite easy to pickup. It wasn't hard at all.

The things that were confusing is the lose scenario. I had to run out of money, I don't know if you ever can in the game. I played for 6 days and 40 hours (6 minutes?) not a single time I came close to losing. Since I can't build a bridge that I can't afford, I never reach zero and it seems if you upgrade a bridge once, it would be safe from destruction.

There was also no clear indication how bridge would cost so it was all guess work and random clicks. Not sure also how money can be generated faster but I guessed it is by connecting as much "Earths" as possible.

What I dreaded the most was the sound that played when I had no money to build/upgrade a bridge, that piece of sound was extremely annoying.
But I guess with the random generation things, one can only get what they can find.

All in all, the game was fun in the beginning and I liked the idea of the game. The game's charm wore off a little after a while, where I just let it active and did something else and returned to build a bridge here or upgrade another there.
I can see the game working out perfectly on phones where you can play in your breaks or something and with some more features to it (which I believe it is the fault of time constraints).

Good work ^_^

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:19am

Great literal take on connecting worlds. When the bridges broke I chuckled.

gardenhead says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49am

Haha! This is 5 stars for the theme, really enjoyed it. Cool idea!

ljdp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:52am

A strange theme, bridges in space? I suppose it could have been interesting but there was no reason not just to bridge everything to everything. Would be nice to have some visual representation of bridges breaking. All that said though there's a lot of components going on here so good work for 48 hours.

Nanofus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54am

A lot of fun! The concept is really entertaining.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:55am

Nice idea. Maybe instead of just giving messages about collapsing bridges, you could show the soon-to-collapse bridges visually so the player can click them to reinforce, adding some action-element with that and make it more controllable / predictable.

Peping says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:59am

This is another one of my favorites. I really enjoy strategies, however, what Vallar said generally applies. The "insufficient funds" sound is realy dreadful and a slight hint of how much building/upgrading bridges will cost wouldn't hurt.

laremere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Nice work! I appreciate the tutorial at the beginning. I think some level of player feedback would really help in this game. You can tell how much a bridge is going to cost, how many people are using it (without manually checking each one), or how close it is to collapsing.

Retr0spectrum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:15pm

This is a cool idea, but I think that the graphics could have been better. Also, the game seems to be more based on luck than strategy.

Sanguine says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:46am

Super interesting concept! It was kind of annoying that the bridges seemed to randomly break down without me doing anything though.

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:36am

Hello! Liked your game, I think it's a good idea ;) I think it lacks a bit of feedbacks, it's a bit annoying to have to click on "i" then on planets to get informations, and money is too huge, you don't know how much you spend or will spend, hard to make decisions!

Good job for the theme and keep the good work on =)

Navarckyx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Looks pretty cool - I like the idea. Some little things that would go a long way are perhaps showing the population of each world and the number of people using the bridge and amount of money being generated for each bridge. I think other improvements I can suggest are things you'd come up with yourself given more time. Good work, although I didn't get much play time out of it it has potential.

Maek says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:50am

Distroied by terrorist, lol. Graphics of the planet are cuted on the rest light from the planet, looks not so good. I cant deselect the planet. But overall a good game.

OFF says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Simple and pretty fun.
Not fan of the graphics (the glow on the sprite make see the border :( ) , it could enjoy i think a more abstract look like several game. There is two main issue : we don't know the price of things so we get a lot of error message (with the annoying sound), we can't anticipate a strategic use of bridge.

It could be nice that
- connecting some planet between them bring more people (because there is more population)
- you can't connect directly certain planet for war reason, or anything else
- that travelling by a small planet reduce the amount of people
- that you have to protect building against things
- upgrade take time and block the use of the bridge
- not an infinite map, but maybe small map with an objective

You could also make visible the flow of people like in this game : http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=41282

With more understanding, i could stay hour on a game like that.

CrefossusJam says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:50am

Could have used music but the two sound effects were good feedback and appropriate.

I liked the gradient glow on the planets, however the selection graphics got cut off a bit.

The error dialog for not having enough money could tell you how much more you need.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:00pm

It was a fun game that followed the theme very well. The planets could have used a slightly bigger image size so that the glow does not get cut of and create sharp lines. Well done!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Nice game! Add some more sounds and game mechanics. This shows promise! :)

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Very interesting idea. It's a great start, but doesn't really have a distinct goal as it stands right now. I still liked the concept here, and the functions correctly, it just need some polishing.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:06pm

I liked your literal approach to the bridge between planets to create connection for people to travel on. It is a nice idea, you just need to realize it better. You may add some animation or change the sounds. Also don't forget to add an information tab to tell player how much he needs to upgrade the bridge.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:41am

The amount of money earned/spent was hard to figure out. Apart from that I liked the idea :-)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:33pm

So weird! Extreme effort :)

Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Good game! I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ljAqElzAd_Q

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]