Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Troll Away

by spolsh - Jam Entry

Troll Away is AR ( Augmented Reality ) multiplayer game for Android.

Game connects two mysterious worlds, reality and virtuality, and enables you to share it with 2 other players.

Win by getting more score than others, what is achieved by staying in green zone and hitting the opponents.

Controlling your character is similar to snooker.
You have to ensure that center green zone is tracked and aim with red marker. After tapping the screen character will be pushed in direction to marker.

Markers(funny gray square images) are included in pdf file.

Credits:
Michal 'spolsh' Klos - programming wizardry and magic,
necromac - programming, models animations,
kozun - design, 2D art, stuff and some more stuff

Used:
Unity 3D
Visual Studio 2013
Qualcomm Vuforia
Blender
Free models and owned particles from Unity Asset Store

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#21Innovation(Jam)4.19
#100Overall(Jam)3.69
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

cstudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Are you kidding me? When I seen AR I though its some kind of lame scam. But no! Its real... Unfortunately I do not have a printer at home, but I will print this out and try the game (i tried it from my monitor) with my colleges tomorrow at work. Nicely done. It would be cool if you could level up your critters and you could get more critters downloaded from the internet. It could work like pocket monsters. Just suggesting ;).

spolsh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Thanks for the comment and ideas. Yeah, displays may be used instead of paper. We're thinking about leveling up, cause indeed it's sweet and fun but we had to simplify and scale it down. We've removed few annoying bugs and a it will be continued after LD. Its our first LD and we're extremely excited! ;D

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:45am

Surprisingly enough, this is the first AR entry I've encountered. But now that I think of it, AR is entirely about connected worlds!

ponk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:34am

That is so awesome !!!
I need a new smartphone to play it.. !
But it looks fantastic !

Autonomous says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:38am

Wow! A bit buggy, but working!

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Unfortunatly I can't play this game : no Windows version :/

schizokoa says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Very impressive! Can't rate it because my smartphone has the shitiest camera ever made, but kudos to the tech and to the idea that fits the theme perfectly.

gene-z says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:09am

Good game nice graphics... congratulations

mechabit says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:04am

Wow, really impressive that you managed to make a multiplayer AR game in a jam. Unfortunately I only have iOS devices and they're not too great for sharing files on. Could totally take this in Skylanders direction and sell toys with AR battles lol

spolsh says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Thank you guys! It's very motivating!

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:18am

Amazing use of tech, top marks for that! It was difficult to tell which character was mine or my opponents, and the same for the markers - so I would have liked to see different coloured characters in the game and also to see a reminder of each player's marker shown in the corner of their screen. Both of my devices had trouble picking out the marker images so the red dot would flicker on and off, but I think the print quality is okay and the camera is reasonably good on both devices - maybe I needed different lighting or table surface? I had daylight from a window behind me and I was playing on a slightly glossy tabletop. Some instruction about that would be helpful. Also it would be useful if you provide a QR code to download the .apk file because having already browsed to this game from my PC it was kind of tedious to navigate through the Ludum Dare site again from my phone and then yet another time on my tablet. Finally, does it need to be network play between 2+ devices? I guess more people will be able to play if you can take turns from one phone. Overall though, really great work!! :)

spolsh says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:11pm

We're glad to hear it :) QR code provided! As far as we tested surface should be well lit and markers unfolded. It catches them better when aimed perpendicularly. Then you can try to look around. I agree with your words - we have encountered similar issues. For sake of LD judgement we leave it as it is. It's rather prof of concept than a full blown game and we'll challenge those issues in next version :)

christopf says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:02am

wow, i just can watch the youtube video but it looks impressive and very special. congratulations. wish you could luck if you are going to make this a full game

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Original, good work guys !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]