Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Becky's Adventure in Mirrorland

by vctr_seleucos - Jam Entry

This is it, folks! My game is finished! I dunno if it fits the theme perfectly, but i've done the best i could! Great experience, learned a lot and a had a lot of fun!! :D

The main idea of the game is keep going through dimensions/levels (each one with a different esthetic), but if you're not skilled enough the game is a constant loop. You must break the circle!

Have fun!

Every comment and rate will be welcome. And if you detect a bug/glitch, tell me and i'll try to fix it as soon as possible ;)

EDIT (26/08/2014): Ok, small update of the game:
-Instruction section added, for knowing what to do.
-Little clarification in the goal of the game.
-Reduced the volume of the sfx.
Still, if you want to play de original game made in 72h, download the older version :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#66Humor(Jam)3.58
#89Fun(Jam)3.61
#141Overall(Jam)3.59
#149Audio(Jam)3.56
#261Graphics(Jam)3.67
#274Mood(Jam)3.30
#532Theme(Jam)2.79
#601Innovation(Jam)2.62

Comments

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:54am

A tiny, simple, fun platformer. I enjoyed it. Sounds effects are a little annoying, music is ok.

Druid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Pretty fun game! (that dumb bitch :D :D :D)

vctr_seleucos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Thanks, man! :D

AlexDJones says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Really enjoyable, small game. Looks good, plays pretty well and I like the level design a lot.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Congrats on your game! I played the old version and it's a super fun little platformer and was quite challenging. Will keep playing the new version until I beat it. Cheers, Ben.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Short, cute, fun. LOVED the weird little enemies.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Short and fun :D

katanagari7c1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Fun old-school platformer. Love the level design, it becomes more and more challenging as you pass to the other worlds :)

Peping says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Some spot on humor, great challenge and splendid music. I really like this one!

burgerdare says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:40pm

a solid and enjoyable platformer. It seems as though the game pulls randomly from a set pool of levels, which is cool until you start encountering repeats, which kind of breaks the mood.

vctr_seleucos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Thanks you all for the comments! This kind of thing makes me happy :D and yep Burgerdare, i tried to make as many levels as the LD time limit let me, maybe i add more in a post-LD version... who knows...

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:41am

This is really neat! Really cute graphics with good music and amazing level design. As someone who is apparently not good enough at platformers, though, I was really frustrated :< After trying over and over to beat a level, I found out that I got to keep on playing the levels I'd worked so hard at... I got to play them again, until I got good enough at them in some unspecified way that I could progress? If it was "good end" and "bad end" based on getting all the apples, or something, I think that would have been a lot more motivating. I'm happy to rise to a good challenge, but it's the lack of specificity in what I was supposed to do in order to be doing "well enough" that kind of did my interest in.

Anyway, thanks for the game. This was a really need idea, with an excellent, polished execution :]

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:53am

Not half bad :D I liked the levels, most platforms made in such short time to either be reallly easy or super hard, I think you got it right :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Wow game looked really good. Tough to do that much in a short weekend. I enjoyed it. :)

lasagnegames says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Great work, love the humour and the minimal style. The levels are well designed and it feels quite polished. The levels are pretty insane! ;-)

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Little fun game. Loved it.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:45pm

A nice little classic platformer. The graphics are really nice and the games plays well, One thing I din't enjoy : having to kill myself because I was stuck after failing to jump at the right moment on an ennemy

dunin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:59pm

not very original, but good old school feelings. very fun.
(just for the score, I'm not sure that I have understand how it's work (how many we loose with a death?) and one level with infinite respawn make it too easy to increase...)

MaesK says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Nice platformer! Great work with graphics and music! Maybe with more time, the game could improve with the theme and different objectives to beat the level and keep the game fresh. Keep it up!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:04am

Great level designs - tricky, but satisfying to complete. A lot of variation in the visuals of the different worlds too - nice to see that in a jam game. Awesome work!

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:15pm

A cute old-school platformer. Enjoyed the art. Tight controls as well. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]