Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Dream Smuggler

by BeardaNeerz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a little tiny game made like a fairytal or a "books where you are the hero".
The goal is easy : you have to bring a little dream to the unconsious world of the dreamer.

Mouse click : choose wisely your action

Some bugs, the end is not implemented and no sound... but for me this LD is a success.

I'll make a new version with more characters and sounds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#16Graphics4.43
#292Mood3.31
#316Humor2.76
#774Theme2.91
#856Overall2.91
#903Innovation2.68
#1052Fun2.39

Comments

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:34am

I really like the art style of this game.

honestcritic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:34am

seems like an excuse to draw random stuff rather than a game

SonnyBone says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:46pm

And your account seems like an excuse to be an asshole.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Nice graphics, can you tell me if this engine that you used is good ?

Canyon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:07pm

This has such promise! I love your creativity, please finish this at some point!

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:51am

nice artwork

Manou says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:23am

that's creative, needs some music.

H1S2 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:07pm

"for the night is dark and full of terrors" :) i liked the artwork very much, but im not a big point and click fan. I think the audio did not work.

Njord says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:13pm

love the graphics

ReactorScram says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:17pm

The screenshot is very promising, but I couldn't get it to run. Does it need .NET or something? I'm using a pretty old Windows XP install...

BeardaNeerz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:21pm

@ReactorScram : sorry but I think your windows is too old...Both of the installer doesn't work??(web and windows)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Nice concept for the connected worlds theme :D I like the art! looks so awesome! The story was fun, i could get to the end safe. Great work :D its a shame there was no audio and the grafics looked kind of slow.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:52am

Art style is great! It reminds me in ways of The Little Prince, which gives a pleasant, nostalgic feeling. Every time I get to the "free the other dream smuggler" event though, the game just goes back to menu. I was also really, really confused by the initial cutscene. I think that if you worked hard to develop more of a unified feel for this game, it could work substantially better. You've got good stuff to start with... looking forward to what you end up creating! Good luck!

Vudu says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:42am

It's more an interactive story than a game, but it's still very nice to play. Definitely needs some music...

lowcade says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Awesome graphics and style.

lotusgame says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:45am

Gorgeous graphics and superb poetry ! Continue learning to make fantastic games ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]