Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

In Phase

by McFood - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A Coop puzzle platformer (pretty light on the puzzles for the time being) about two worlds heading for disaster.

Tools Used: Unity, Gimp, Blender, http://www.abundant-music.com/

Edit 1:
- Made small adjustments to platform animation time and respawn zone size to stop players getting stuck.

Edit 2:
- Changed text to "The End", its a win condition not lose.
- stopped second player from rotating away from other possible ending.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#81Innovation3.94
#86Theme3.94
#130Overall3.71
#131Fun3.64
#170Mood3.49
#218Humor2.97
#336Audio3.09
#435Graphics3.26

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36am

Really interesting concept. Well done. I included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/aac43JwG3FQ

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:22am

love the graphics

Nanofus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:31am

Love the graphics and the music! :D

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:44am

Hey, cool game :) However sometimes it's possible to avoid reversing sides and you get stuck. You can still fix it so no worries (bug fixing is allowed after submitting)

CeriseGhost says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:59am

Hey man! Had a lot of fun playing this game! Really cool game.

SkyWolf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:04am

I like the overall gameplay of it, some noticeable bugs, but it's 48h. :D

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:06am

Fun mechanic! Well done!

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:06am

Ok I'm really impressed! Unity dev myself and the whole time I kept thinking how did you dop this, how did you do that O_O Very nice, and the music is nice too :)

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:46am

Thanks for the comments everyone =)
Your games rock too!

callmemonamiral: I'll look at adding some temporary invisible walls, that should sort it out.

tillrobby: The code that keeps the players on the platforms is some of the dodgiest code I've ever written. Maybe one day I'll do it with a guiding spline insdead =P

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:22am

The concept is awesome! Had fun playing it, though the camera would need some polish in future works! Would recommend working on it, as it's really neat!

TD5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:46am

Really fun! I love that it's a coop game! It was awesome the first time the 3D stuff happened.

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Aww this is cute! And the puzzle design and game mechanics are really well done! Good learning curve and still challenging in the end. Not to mention how I love the story telling! Only thing missing is, from the story, I want to see that they found the button and clicked it to separate the worlds. Just a tooltip with the button and a '!' and then another one to show that the planets are safe now. And they can be together now <3 :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:07pm

After the gravity-switching part of the level the spawn point is very far back which makes it hard to complete the level if you fail as the camera is zoomed way out.

I liked the concept of the characters talking to each other.

The pacing felt a bit rushed, a lot of different mechanics put after each other. Maybe the mechanics could be explored a bit more before introducing a new one?

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:19pm

I was a bit rushed in the end and mashed some mechanics and story together. Ideally it would be longer to better explore both =)
Thanks for the comments =D

dadman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Wow, I thought this was awesome! Being a fan of 2.5D platformers seeing this was really cool! Really cool the way you did your tutorial and story without being in any way intrusive to the gameplay. I felt sad at the end where the two characters had to split paths. High rating from me.

g_o says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Nice game, I liked what you did with the theme.
One of the best gameplay-wise, at times I actually got confused with the two and I liked the moving and abnormal geometry (which changes sometimes gravity=awesome); So yeah
it was pretty cool and innovative :P
Only problem is the glitches with the restart but as you said - for a game made 48 hrs I can stand a glitch or two. :)

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:11pm

I really enjoyed this! This was my favorite dual controlling game so far. I couldn't solve the burning city puzzle but I really liked what I played. Music was a little harsh, but it felt better when I lowered the volume.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Very, very nice game. Really interesting theme use, great connection...

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Hi there. Really liked your game. Lovely simple design, great tutorial setup at start, lovely mechanics for swapping around. Cool that they have different abilities. Great job overall!

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Really good game. Great graphics. Kudos.

Ludipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Cool game, reminds me to "ibb & obb". I experienced some bugs like characters turning invisible or respawning really far from each other and messing up the camera, but overall is a fun game.

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Hey, you can jump, stick to wall somehow and lower the bridge without assistance :B

Donar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:22pm

It reminds me a bit of my entry ... but only the "control two characters at the same time" part.

I liked this one very much. Pretty well presented.

PixelMind says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Great concept!

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:11am

Nicely done. Devilish puzzles :) I got a "game over" at the part with the arrows but I wasn't quite sure why. Otherwise it was an enjoyable experience.

I like that the characters have different abilities, and that they can swap between blue and orange in certain places.

Great work!

Knowledge says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Great game.

Aaants says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Great work, cleverly put together.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Imaginative gameplay. Well done!

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:48pm

You've got some really nice game mechanics going there! The graphics are simple but does their job well of distinguishing the two worlds. Nice work!

xrm0 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:51am

Interesting game.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Great game :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]