Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stranded in Space

by Hoothoot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is about saving a stranded spaceship by moving around worlds/planets in space.

Made in Unity mainly focusing the Unity Web Player. Hopefully it works fine on other platforms aswell.

I'm not overly excited by the results, but considering my little experience in game design, I think I did ok.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#189Innovation3.67
#389Graphics3.36
#425Overall3.33
#585Fun3.00
#596Mood2.94
#650Theme3.13
#667Audio2.50
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:58am

Interesting idea with the gravity. Needed a lot of patience. Stopped at level 2

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:58am

Sorry, I couldn't rate your game - for some reason it wasn't responding to the left click, and I couldn't get a game started.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:08am

Game is pretty fun to play, but gameplay betwixt levels is pretty much the same

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:09am

Nice concept , Like the work with gravity
but kinda slow .

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:15am

Very nice :) I got a few scare jumps on explosions :D Overall really nice puzzle.
Btw if left click mouse is not working for other, then click on another opened tab in Chrome/Firefox/Safari, then click back to the game. It is a lil webplayer bug.

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:16am

Nice gravity idea and realization but I feel it's very hard (tested on the web version)

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:16am

Pretty interesting mechanics. Nice simple visuals. The only complain though is that "yellow" planets, are actually green.

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:17am

Web version does not register button clicks, download works fine. Game is kida hard and tedious, couldn't get past lvl 3. The first time I exlpoded it scared the crap out of me :D

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:20am

Level 3 got me :) Very nice game.

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:21am

Good game, but quite slow gameplay

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:22am

I like the idea, simple yet efficient physics ! The graphics are neat. I couldn't figure out level 5 though :(

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:26am

Definitely an interesting concept and different from a lot of the games I have played so far.

I liked the idea of moving the planet to move the ship although as mentioned before by others, requires a lot of patience.

That said, it was really challenging until I noticed I can destroy yellow and red planets with the blue planet if I don't have the ship on it (not sure that is intentional or a glitch). At that point the game became really easy.

Over all the game is fun and I wished there was a background music to go with it.
Well done :)

Canyon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:44am

Cool idea

kidando says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:14am

this was a hard game, but so original. I love the concept. I love puzzles. Awesome work!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:42am

Cool concept! I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/NXgeb3Jk3nI

Artamus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Nice game, congrats!

hbocao says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Interesting concept, but it was kinda frustrating. I really liked the art (but the 'yellow' planet is 'green'). Nice entry!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]