Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Eat!Live!Kill!Win!

by jgthespy - Jam Entry

ELKW's connected worlds feed into each other rather than existing parallel to each other. Whatever you do in each world affects all of the worlds after, culminating in a very buggy boss fight with your complete opposite.

Note: Right click should work in the web player now. Please let me know if it doesn't. Also, it appears that some of the powers don't actually do any damage during the last fight. Sorry! I still think the comet looks cool.

There are 8 ways to play and 12 different powers to unlock. You get two powers each playthrough. It takes only 2-3 minutes to finish so try playing differently to get different powers. Some of them are pretty cool. The first and third levels are my favorite. The second was fun before it got buggy and the last level didn't really get finished and is even more buggy. Spoilers at the bottom

This is pretty much my first game ever. I'm working on a nifty math game but it's nowhere near done. I'm really disappointed that I didn't get to add sound effects or music. I wanted to do a multitrack song that builds on itself but this took forever. I still had a blast though. Next time I will be less ambitious!

***Spoilers***
Eat: Plants or animals
Live: Kill the giant gobstopper or run away to the safe area on the left. If you killed animals, you can sumo him into the lava. If not, you can run up top and he'll stupidly run into the lava himself.
Kill: Kill more blue guys or kill more green guys
Win: Don't die!

My favorites:
Eat animals, kill gobstopper, wreck the third level
Eat plants, run away from gobstopper, kill blue guys
Eat plants, kill gobstopper, kill blue guys

http://www.picklenerd.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#168Innovation(Jam)3.46
#399Humor(Jam)2.38
#417Fun(Jam)2.97
#504Overall(Jam)3.03
#511Theme(Jam)2.86
#596Mood(Jam)2.67
#642Audio(Jam)1.67
#682Graphics(Jam)2.51

Comments

Evil Scotsman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:49am

Error with the web version: Invalid data file

Rossrox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:52am

Confirming the web version error.

grillaface says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:54am

can't play on web

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:56am

Very nice game :D

billknye says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:56am

I thought some of the game mechanics could be a lot of fun if expanded upon. I didn't feel like I got enough time with each of them to really get to know them without playing many times through. First two levels were my favorites, something about pushing everything and burning things was gratifying.

Rossrox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:57am

Was very confused, seems like a neat idea but every playthrough glitched or bugged out.

billknye says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:57am

Web player worked fine for me, but the right click brought up the unity menu over and over.

jgthespy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:14am

Thanks for the heads-up on the right click issue. I put a little note on the title screen.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:13am

getting invalid data file as well

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:20am

Web version definitely does not work. Says invalid data file. I wonder if there is a version mismatch with the latest player? (I didn't have the player installed until I clicked the link to download it.)

Muush says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:29am

The war one was amazing. I got stuck in the "win!" one because I didn't know how to fight the other ball.

jgthespy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:36am

You can beat on the other ball with both of the special moves. There should probably be a health indicator or something.

I'm not sure what to do about the invalid data thing. It works fine for me every time I try it but I'm getting the same error with other people's games.

tommyboys0107 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:46am

Web is not working.

I like many mini games in one, but it seems that not so correlate with theme.

CoolIron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:32am

Awesome game! It was fun to teleport outside of the map in war level :D

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Hi there, not reviewed yet. Web version 'data error'

Budaniel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Got an invalid data file error, so I couldn't review it yet.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:59pm

The game is very strange but is addictive

Jaenis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Really strange game - in a good way

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:27pm

I got rekt by Bizzaro :/ . The game had a very Wario-ware type feel to it, which kept each level interesting and engaging!

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Very cool concept! I'd love to see a more fleshed-out version of the ideas here.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Very nice, I had fun playing (web player works, by the way). It's a little hard to figure out how to survive in that primordial ocean or whatever it is, but it's fun :)

SupSuper says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:48pm

What a weird concept. But at least I got to watch the sweet effect!

McFunkypants says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:20am

Cool mechanic, and I love the zoom out, which made me thing of katamari. Keep working on this, it shows promise!

Artamus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Nice game, congrats!

Troy says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Haha I found this game surprisingly fun, I like the concept and the transaction between the first and the second level was really impressive, all you need now is good audio!

porglezomp says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:05am

Haha! "You made some questionable choices, but at least you get to see this cool effect!"

I'm going to bookmark this and try to see some other endings!

jgthespy says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:05am

Haha unfortunately that's the only real ending I think. I thought it looked really cool so I gave it its own screen.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]