Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Node 54

by silentlamb - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dolan works and lives in a space station in universe section called Node 54. It happens to be a transportation node between many worlds as it's the central point close enough to almost everything.

Dolan needs to route cargos to destination worlds. When he picks something up he feels strong urge to finish his current job until he picks another one.

He needs your help to guide him through various delegation zones.


Keys:
Up, Down, Left, Right: movement
Space: to pick a cargo
Esc, P: pause

Unfortunately I wasn't given time to finish sound nor implement bindable keys/joystick support.

Have fun!

Edit: If you happen to have .dll issues, you are probably missing libraries required by VS 2013. I'm not sure if I can redistribute them so here's the link to download: Make sure to download x86 version even if you windows is x64!

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

Edit2: I've added Linux port. It differs from Windows with just one small fix - I've typed audio volume to be within 0.0 - 1.0 range instead of 0.0 - 100.0. Windows version is still without audio but I won't touch it.

Edit3: Linux version was not working because folder with libraries should be named "lib" instead of "libs". I've fixed it and replaced the link.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#354Humor2.67
#727Graphics2.85
#730Fun2.85
#766Mood2.75
#816Audio2.19
#950Overall2.79
#1022Innovation2.44
#1056Theme2.33

Comments

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:25am

I really enjoyed this one, even though I suck at it.

Big fan of the background tile pattern too.

Up and Down arrows seemed to be inverted for me, that might be less disorienting if the sprite rotated to face the current heading. =)

Lord Draficus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:41am

It took me a few minutes to figure out how to stay alive with the up and down arrows being inverted. I enjoyed the random placement of the colors of the flags and packages and getting the packages from pickup to finish.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:57am

I cannot play it.. Missing dll

zapaman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:06am

For some reason I got used to the inverted controls faster then I expected. My only beef with the game is that the player's sprite does not face the direction it's moving towards. Good job o/

silentlamb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:42am

Thank you for the feedback!

@elkiwydev: I am not sure if I am allowed to redistribute this dll by myself, so here's the link: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

My guess is that you're missing this.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Interesting game. I included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/WU8AB6IzBac

bobrocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:38pm

The inverted controls are rough! Fun game, you should definitely continue development of this!

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Funny and interesting game :D It's mechanic reminded me of "UGH!" from Amiga (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cv1Y0QdcXxw), which was one of my favourite titles to play! Of course it's a different game, but still!

Maybe the overall physics should be tweaked a little, but nothing is really wrong with that.

Good job!

silentlamb says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:10pm

LostTrainDude: Thank you! Yes indeed. I'm big fan of Ugh! myself and I wanted to create something similar. The great thing about Ludum Dare is that now that I have something playable I will continue to fix bugs, implement new features and improve overall gameplay.

silentlamb says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Hi guys. I've added Linux port today. Have fun and I hope it works without any issues!

lkr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Interesting concept with a neat visual style.
Inverted up/down controls were a bit strange, but wasn't a big problem after a short while playing.

silentlamb says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:53am

For anyone having issues with missing dlls even if package from the link got installed. Make sure, that you installed 32 bit version (x86) even if your Windows is 64 bit (x64). A friend of mine resolved his issues with missing dlls this way.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:59am

Nice little gameplay there. It might need something to tell the player they're going too fast though.

Lvyn says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:39am

Fine game, but I find this hard to control. I'm not precise enough :D

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Controls were a bit too sensitive, it felt as if I was overshooting where I wanted to go. Cool graphics and gamplay though!

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:45am

Funny game, and the artwork is good. Congratulations!

TautNerve says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:10pm

I had to struggle a little with the sensitivity of the
controls, but I guess that's part of the game's challenge.
I like the background but somehow wish that the foreground
could pop out a little more. Overall I had fun playing!

Posva says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:43pm

I get one red cargo and go to the red flag => level restarts. I'm confused

silentlamb says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:02am

You collided with a wall/ground having too much of velocity. Unfortunatelly I haven't implemented any speed warning indicator as there were no time left. Also I forgot to add any form of tutorial.

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:23pm

The gameplay was actually pretty fun once I figured out what was going on. The down key giving you lift was disorienting, and it was hard to know exactly how fast was too fast. It played a bit like lunar lander, in that it was more a game of finesse than speed. The graphics were cohesive, and it was well put together, but being colorblind I had to stop after a few levels since I couldn't tell them apart.

dook says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:58pm

This is pretty neat. Took me a moment to figure out the controls, but it's just like "Ugh!". I had almost forgotten all about that game :)

HeyChinaski says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Really like that background. The controls were really hard to get used to but pretty fun once I did. It took me 806 seconds and 15 deaths.

Shivur says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:53am

Good Graphics!

Rehacked says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:02am

Good job!

swich says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:58am

UGH :) Pretty cool. The controls are somewhat frustrating.

silentlamb says ...
Aug 16, 2015 @ 10:01am

Looking at this entry 1 year later, even I know any of you read this, I'd like to thank you all for the feedback! I learned quite a bit from your comments!

silentlamb says ...
Aug 16, 2015 @ 10:02am

any of you won't read this*

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]