Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Familiaris

by Greg Klein - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made with Twine

http://twinery.org/

Hosted on philome.la, a free hosting service for Twine games.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#50Mood3.87
#252Humor2.88
#496Overall3.27
#661Fun2.92
#784Innovation2.85
#820Theme2.84
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

dadman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:46pm

I really enjoyed this game! I'm the best wing-animal ever!
I don't really see how it fits in with the theme 'Connected worlds' though. Apart from that, high ratings!
Tempted to play again and do everything to split the two people up, but I think that'd just make me sad more than anything...

Greg Klein says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:19pm

@dadman, thanks for the feedback. I was going add sound which would have helped tie it to the theme a lot more, but I didn't have enough time. For example, all the talking from the man and woman would have sounded garbled at first, then as you connected with the man you would be able to distinguish your name and other words in the dialog.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:14pm

A dog simulator!
All in all real good.
Maybe a bit to wall-of-text like, but really not a problem.

I love animals...so maybe a sequel?

Greg Klein says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:42am

@Paperblurt: Yeah, there are a few walls of text in there. I did have timed inserts in the story but didn't have enough time to make sure they were all timed correctly, so I removed them.

There will definitely be more animal games. I'm not a huge fan of cats, but I'm sure I'll make another game with a dog in it soon.

Ellian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:10am

Good story, and I liked how you more or less -felt- like a dog. A shame there weren't more options though, it was a little too straightforward. :(
Good stuff anyway!

oranebeast says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:17am

A great tale, Those shoes though. And I understood the connection two. Its hard to explain though.

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:26am

Haha, another wing-animal here! That guy was lucky to have me. Nudging him forward at every turn :D

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:48pm

A bit straightforward, but a dog simulator! I haven't played one of these in days!

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Great writing - very captivating and well-paced. Also, great take on the theme!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Nice story but that's quite all. Would love more interactivity in this kind of game.

Snoother says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:38pm

A gorgeous game gorgeously presented. The interactivity actually felt about right for me: just enough to maintain player interest but always focused on the story, which is what this game's really about. However, if you include timed sequences in a future version as you say, I think it would improve pacing.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:29am

This was a fun read/play! Good job!

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Beautiful story, well presented. Kept me captivated.

Greg Klein says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Thank you for the feedback, everyone! I'll work on it some more once I get my sleep back to normal and let you all know when I upload it.

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Great writing!

ZYXer says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Wow! Amazing story!

I like how you used the theme to connect the dog's world with the human world.

tbam says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:15am

Cool story, some music would have made this really killer

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:53am

Nice! I felt distinctly canine for a little while there.. Odd sensation. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]