Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pos-Neg

by Xentira - Jam Entry

This is a very basic idea of what I wanted to do. For my first Compo/Jam I am happy with the result but I wish I could have done more. I ended up with no music or sounds due to time constraints. There is no pause menu, sounds or music, sorry!

I cant wait until the next Compo so I can do this again!

If I fleshed this out more would people be interested in playing it?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#591Graphics(Jam)2.86
#605Theme(Jam)2.55
#628Fun(Jam)2.57
#646Mood(Jam)2.47
#708Innovation(Jam)2.23
#726Overall(Jam)2.57
#1542Coolness41%

Comments

Oxeren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:55am

Good results for first jam!

Elejdor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:10am

You have to learn a lot about programming in Unity. Try to repair the walls (I can go out of the screen) and have a look at path finding. Personally I would like to shoot with mouse. The graphics is pretty.

Xentira says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:21am

I had colliders setup around the sections for the walls but completely forgot to put ones in place for when there are not pathways to connect each of the rooms together. Thank you for your responses I would have added in the path finding if I had had the time. I ended up spending too much time getting the random generation code in for building the levels so that killed my polish time completely.

Vytheros says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:35pm

For a first Compo/Jam it's pretty good. Could use some better pathfinding and wall collision. I also spawned outside the area a few times

Xentira says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Thank you Vytheros, I am planning on re-adjusting how I had things setup in the screen so I can use Unity's navmesh, which if I had know about its setup I would have attempted to use it to begin with.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:42pm

The wall collision is a bit buggy/doesn't work and you can get lost transferring in between rooms. Part of me likes how it's randomly generated, but at the same time it makes me wonder where I'm supposed to be going.

I did reach the portal to flip positive/negative once but I got stuck after that.

Xentira says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:58am

@Crefossus, I wish I had spent a little less time on the random generation and worked more on the actual rooms. This was a great learning experience and I am actually starting the process of getting this converted over to unity 4.6 fort the new UI elements. I am also reworking the room generation, collision, and enemy AI.

tbam says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:07am

Decent enough game, but I got stuck in one of the doorways when the level loaded :/

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:15am

I ran into a glitch where I was blocked by a door when I entered a new room. I was able to shoot most of them through the door but still one was remaining so I could get through. That happened multiple times and it seemed like it happened whenever I started to walk backwards as soon as I spawned in a new room. I also managed to make my through just a regular wall. After refreshing the page a billion times to start over the game again after each time there was a glitch, I eventually managed to get to the portal and started to walk back and then the glitch happened again. I really hope you can fix these glitches. The game looks nice( like the art and stuff) and I can really see the idea coming well along. Good job!

Tanser says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:43am

The controls are a bit clumsy and there are no sounds but its nicely done for the given time. :)

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:09am

Overall it's pretty nice. Very BoI-esque, which is good considering the time frame. I played until I got stuck outside the map. Other than the apparent wall bugs people have had, it's a solid little game.

madmaw says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 12:00am

I also really enjoy this style of game. Although aiming with the mouse might have been a nice touch. Also, I seemed to be able to walk out of the arena sometimes without triggering a new room. Good work for a first attempt.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]