Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Alter Axis

by sylarisbest - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Alter Axis is a Input Coordination game where you control two characters that are connected via a rod.
The rod holds the two characters at a fixed distance, so in order to move and rotate you must move both characters in unisin.
The goal is to get past all the obstacles and reach the end.

Controls:
WASD: moves the blue character up/down/left/right
Directional Keys: moves the green character up/down/left/right

Credits:
Font: http://www.dafont.com/forced-square.font by Drawperfect

Change Log:
+ 'R' key resets game back to checkpoint

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#125Innovation3.82
#204Overall3.58
#232Fun3.46
#417Theme3.43
#441Audio2.87
#657Mood2.87
#854Humor1.87
#975Graphics2.41

Comments

nbilyk says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:54pm

I love it. Well done!

One suggestion - add a hotkey for restarting from checkpoint.

Toestee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:30am

Brilliant concept, I love the mechanic.

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:46am

Puzzle games like this never fail to impress me, such apparent simplicity but I never in a million years would have thought this up for this theme!

sam1373 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:26am

Great concept, very fun game.

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:40am

The firsts few challenges might be a bit too hard, that's were I got most of my deaths because i wasn't used to the controls.

Great mechanic

Kuupu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:12am

Very nice concept. The controls are quite unusual, so it takes a while to get used.
Great work, congratulations.

steve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:53am

Nice concept, would have liked to have seen a few more checkpoints ;)

Cruion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Good entry. Was fun to play and quite challenging. Hope you continue to develop it.

JaJ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Nice concept, really hard!
I didn't like the sound of the shooters. Too loud. Had to mute after a while.

JaJ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Nice concept, really hard!
I didn't like the sound effects of the shooting things, they were too loud. Turned my sound off after a while.

The Lag Pack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:27am

Interesting game.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:52am

Interesting game, but the audio can't be turned off (it was way too loud) and the controls are a bit hard to get a hold of. Otherwise, it was really fun to play.

mattperrin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:47am

I've jamming R over and over to keep playing. That's a good complement by the way. Totally digging it. :)

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:02am

Nice work!

Oxeren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:37am

Great gameplay mechanic, I guess I haven't seen one like this before. Music is also nice.

zillix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:59am

great idea! the relaxing music added to the experience, and I was thankful for the frequent checkpoints :)

mclewis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:01am

Super fun and super hard game

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:25am

Very fun! I love games with cool control schemes like this one :)

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:59am

First 2 levels too hard, but great game otherwise.

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:31am

Great concept and executed really well. Thank God for checkpoints in this, it's hard!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:55am

Hi there. Nice mechanic. I found it too difficult when I reached the guns, but I'm bad at that sort of thing! Death seemed a bit abrupt. Good game!

Trilby says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Brilliant idea. Very hard game.

locknic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Fantastic entry. Close to perfect. I didn't manage to finish it because at one point the checkpoint gets spaced too far apart. The main gameplay concept just works so well. The graphics while simple are tasteful and work well. The music, sounds and movement speed worked together so well to make this super zen ambiance.

darklightteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Addictive game, good work!

Eero Tuovinen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Very good. A solid kernel of a dexterity puzzle game. The idea works, and is ripe for elaboration. The implementation is very good for a competition quickie: attention has been brought to the correct parts, and the product is more whole than can rightfully be expected under these constraints.

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Excellent entry! Very well done and awesome concept! Great job! :)

booyaa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:15pm

i love this game!

hogtrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Very nice game. I liked the gameplay very much.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Nice! Has a bit of a Two Brothers vibe, but with a much more hardcore difficulty. Awesome entry :)

dix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Nice game! I found it really hard, but really nice :D
Nice music aswell!

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:23pm

This is a really nice and interesting game. It was fun playing through it. It gets harder as you progress and the difficulty curve scales nicely.

I liked the music as well although the sound effect of the turrets was higher than expected.


All in all a very interesting and good game :) well done!

TabloidA says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Its a great game but I'm pretty sure this concept has been used before around Nitrome or somewhere.

jawm says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:24pm

great game, difficult. nice use of the theme

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Cool mechanic in this game. It was pretty tricky to control both at once. Well done!

CoderMusgrove says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I suck at it, but it's really fun!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:02pm

An interesting fresh gameplay mechanic. Wish it wasn't that unforgiving, though :).

blindfox says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:01am

Although the controls feel awkward at first, it's clear to see how they add to the challenge, and a few levels of practice make the thinking shift from the controls to the puzzles themselves. Nice game!

Sandcrawler says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:20am

I made a YouTube Video of your game, for my series of Ludum Dare 30 Games. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xnifKpjT1NU

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Super fun! Not sure if it was stated anywhere, but wish I had known earlier that the link between them could be touched, just not the balls themselves.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:24pm

My brain just died :D I love it ! Crazy level design, I only wish there were even more checkpoints. Great job man.

Resonious says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:30am

Pretty cool idea. Feels a little slow but it might be frustrating if faster, so hard call if that's actually a huge issue.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]