Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Satellites

by bg1987 - Jam Entry

Built using unity 4.6beta
Paint.net
by Jacob Laurendeau (trigger_hurt)
and Benny Gafanovich (bg1987)

Note:
IF THE WEB VERSION DOESNT RESPOND SWITCH A TAB AND COME BACK

if this doesnt work, please try the standalone versions.

Get the satellites connected by launching satellites to different planets and adjusting their speed/radius to get the maximum uplink time!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#22Theme(Jam)4.10
#33Innovation(Jam)4.03
#110Overall(Jam)3.67
#201Mood(Jam)3.43
#218Audio(Jam)3.41
#224Fun(Jam)3.31
#364Graphics(Jam)3.43
#558Humor(Jam)1.87

Comments

jgthespy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:29am

Kinda confusing but I like the idea. Right clicking brings up the context menu in the web player. It doesn't seem like the right click function is all that useful but you can turn that off in the player settings when you go to build. I had the same problem.

bg1987 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Thanks for the input and the tip!

I can see how the game can be a bit confusing, we should have added a clear tutorial, the instruction screen is a bit vague

plash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Wow! This is a fun game. The later levels are really difficult. Also, thanks for the non-repetitive music. Always appreciated.

Nitpicks:

- It's easy to forget where the main satellites are, or if you're even connecting them. I think it'd be helpful to change the signal line color when the path is connecting the main satellites.
- The music /is/ good, but I think the mood is a bit off from what I'd expect in a game like this.

Sasurai says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:28pm

As someone said, it's kind of confusing at the beginning, I felt like I was fighting the game to figure out what to do xD. Aside from that, I really like the idea and once I understood how to play it was fun.

JangoBrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Remarkable concept! Great music and graphics, very fun. Great work! I like it!

Fre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Cool game! Game mechanics are not very clear at first, but work pretty well once on get it (keep line of sight between the two existing satellites). Satellites are a bit hard to see when they don't link. Good job!

Aomeas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:07pm

It took me time to figure out what was going on, but once it happened, it became magical :3

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:19pm

I really enjoyed this, although I'm not sure how to get past the second level. I assumed I needed to connect with Mercury as well, but the button didn't exist for me? Fun game, though.

DarkUser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Was a little tough to figure out starting but its a solid game. Couldnt figure out how to get over 100% on that third level

Goutye says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:27pm

I really like the mechanics of your game ! Nice game !

bg1987 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:45pm

DarkUser thats a bug, you can't get over 102, i should re-upload this.

Bernte says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Wow, pretty nice game. Your screenshots doesn't show how cool it actually looks and plays. Love the music. And the concept is quite innovative to me fitting the theme very well. Beautiful game!

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Very confusing at first, as others have said, but very cool once you understand what's going on. Quite original spin on the theme as well. I couldn't figure out how to beat the Alpha Centauri level though, but oh well, I had fun. It would be quite useful to get more feedback on which satellites are actually useful though - maybe change the color of the line to golden when it's being used to connect the main sats, and/or have a stat for each satellites that tells you the percentage of the time it's being used to maintain the uplink. Anyway, overall awesome work.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:03pm

The instructions were too well-hidden; by the time I found them, I had pretty much figured out most of it myself. >.<
Couldn't get past level 2. Also, I'd prefer if game speed bar wasn't so linear, or else I have trouble setting the game speed to 1.

DeltaF1 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Interesting game. I love spamming satellites to one planet :D

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:39am

Great concept! It felt amazing trying to balance the satellites orbits to engage with each other. The level progression was quite good too. And the atmosphere created by the audio and graphics was fantastic. Good job!

lkr says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Fun and relaxing gameplay once I figured out how it worked :)

I really liked the visuals (especially the satellite trails when launching to a far away planet were neat) and the background music.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 4:06am

Pretty neat i dea but i Just could not figure it out.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:01am

Nice game. Was fun to spam satellites :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]