Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Astral Experience

by Beard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I started in the direction of a puzzle game, but quickly got limited on time. Not really a game per say, but my envisioning of the theme in a single room. Still very incomplete, and the project was too ambitious for such a short time.
The game was supposed to be a puzzle game where you need to respect the layout and the rules of both the regular world (white) and the astral plane(black). Escape the room.

Tools: Unity, Magica Voxel, GIMP

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#403Theme3.44
#598Graphics3.04
#667Mood2.86
#926Innovation2.64
#1176Overall2.30
#1199Fun1.68
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:41am

Not really clear. I don't understand gameplay. FX which you use is cool. But my friend, can you respect the rules and post your source. Thanks ++

Beard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:55am

Sorry about that. I forgot to add it. I'll update.

Beard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:06am

I have uploaded the source for my project.

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:46am

Would love to see this expanded into a full puzzle game.

Steve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Not much to do.. I think?
Pretty nice graphical style though.
Player controller definitely needs more work.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Interesting experience. Nice splitscreen/dual-camera.

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Really cool idea. I like where you're going with it.

joonamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Couldn't really understand what to do. It seemed interesting, though.

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:40pm

nice effects

Lythom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Hi,
really too far from a finished game. Try a smaller game next time ;)
Thank you for sharing this game prototype !

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Neat concept! I like the voxel construction of the game world, and the shader (?) on the "astral" cam is pretty neat. Movement is awfully floaty, so if you continue to work on this I'd suggest refining that... unless that's what you're going for of course!

GG :)

tbamberg says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Scope seemed a little too ambitious, but the experience was neat

Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:35pm

This is definitely an early prototype build, but a lot of cool design elements can be put into the game and a nice visual art with some atmospheric sound and music could take this idea a long way.

Teesquared says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:43am

Cool look. Definitely has potential with more time.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]