Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dimension Express

by ivanhlb - Jam Entry

Avoid the enemies and survive! Reach the end of each stage to get more ammo.
-BTW THE AMMO COUNTER MIGHT BREAK.
How to Play:
A and D to move left and right.
Mouse to aim and shoot.

Typo edit:
Changed the timer values from 8000 to 80000
Uncommented HUD update for ammo.
Changed typo value in enemy spawn position.

Fixed game breaking bug for transition.

Sounds: Bxfr and freesound.org
Music: http://opengameart.org/content/battle-midi

Each level takes 80 seconds, shop appears at the end of each level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#108Fun(Jam)3.57
#176Graphics(Jam)3.91
#235Overall(Jam)3.42
#427Innovation(Jam)2.96
#437Audio(Jam)2.91
#461Mood(Jam)2.94
#552Theme(Jam)2.74
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

ATTA Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:22am

Great entry! Easy and nice gameplay. Need some enemies dead sprite.

JBM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:58am

Awesome that you had alot of audio in it and music, just mix it a wee bit more even next time since I would have loved to hear more of the music:D

sez says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:06am

Nice game. I really like the graphics of the gamescreen (Train, backgrounds and such). That's why I really hate the fact you made such a big and ugly HUD. Overall well done :)

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Neat graphics ! But I would have put some kind of indicator to tell the player how far from the end the level he is.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:41pm

The animation of the vehicle and track/rail felt really nice - created a great sense of speed. If you applied that level of love to the whole game, you'll have something cool on your hands!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:14pm

NIce game, reminds me of metal slug, good art and gameplay, could just finish the hud, nice entry.

Matt Hartley says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Very fun good job!

spotco says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:27am

Were there any more enemies?

ivanhlb says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:58am

@spotco yeah there were supposed to be, but due to the lack of time..
The assets are already created by our lead artist; We couldn't get the AI for them to work so it got cut.

J-d-H says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:31am

The audio options seemed to have no effect at all

ivanhlb says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Must be a missing reference.. The music slider works..

Sorry about that.

skiddings says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:18pm

A good start!

TKia_ says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Loved the audio, loved the background art. Gameplay was very challenging, though starting over was bugged.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:42am

Oh man, this was hectic! If only there were more types of enemies! I liked of the train moved and the scenarions changed with each level. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]