Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hold My Beer

by imdigitaljim - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dude leaves a bar and finds himself in an odd situation...
Pro-tips:

-Hold my beer whilst I parkour these window ledges.
-Don't lose your buzz (health).
-Pickup beer to get it back.
-Get to a keg to save your progress.
-Search around just a little to get everything
-Jump on heads
-Find the easter egg


- A, D or Left/Right to move.
- W, Up, or Space to Jump;

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#120Humor3.28
#926Audio1.80
#934Fun2.60
#959Mood2.48
#993Graphics2.37
#1051Overall2.62
#1165Theme1.84
#1171Innovation1.90

Comments

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:21am

I couldn't get very far in it, and i didn't understand any of it but it was funny haha

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Super hard to tell which platforms/parts of buildings you're able to jump on. More visual clarity would be my #1 suggestion for this game.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Didn't seem to understand the point of where I was meant to be going. Look's nice though and any beer theme game is an A+ with me :)

namrog84 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:30pm

I beat the game and held the beer! I enjoyed it! Pretty neat! Good job
I like the keg Checkpoints!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:30pm

I found your Easter egg!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33pm

<3 the fact that relative to the fire hydrant, doors, keg, your character is like tiny 3' dwarf dude!

Cad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:39am

Not bad, though it could be a bit more polished

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:41am

Was that Bender invading? It took me longer than I expected to figure out how to get past the first thing of fire. Nice humor!

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:08am

Nice humor, and graphics!

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:14am

This was such a good game. HELL YEAH! Ran out of time though, guess I was enjoying the game too much, nice work!

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:28am

Thanks everybody! Im glad you've enjoyed it!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:58am

Surreal!

sekaru says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:53am

Kinda confusing but I really liked the particle effects, especially the fire ones.

Konste says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16am

Would be nice if there was more distinguishing between platform and background. A++ voice acting though.

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:54am

I got the first cystal, stepped on the slimes, climbed the building, died in a fire... and then couldn't figure out what to do...

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:09am

The sheer amount of effort put into the water fountain was impressive, make the game smaller, too hard to play on smaller resolutions.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:32am

Probably one of the funniest games here. Bushes are extremely hilarious

snoozbuster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:34am

There was some minor problems with the 2D grid displaying lines when I played. Sometimes just for a frame, but sometimes it would persist.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:23am

Hi there. Fun platformer you've made there.

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Nicely done! :) I like the graphics

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:59pm

As some have said it's hard to know where you can stand, but that can be part of the charm i. e. I wanna be the guy. This was pretty fun! The only thing I didn't like that much was the jumping sound. Well done otherwise! :)

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:47pm

For some reason this reminded me of those old DOS freeware games. It just has that "home made" feeling. Anyways, it was okay. I enjoyed it for what it was. Not especially good, but definitely not bad either. I'd go for somewhere in between.

Kato says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:07pm

The level I played had some good design, but I climbed the building to jump over some fire and landed in a pit I couldn't possibly have seen or anticipated. The movement felt a little slidey. I enjoyed the humor and style and wish I could have gotten further on my meagre lives. I also agree, it was difficult to tell what was and wasn't a platform.

Andre Blyth says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Humorous, and like the use of the kegs as a checkpoint. At first I was difficult to distinguish what I could and could not jump on, and have to say the jump sfx eventually made me mute the game.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Platforms are weird. (The letters in the Vinny's sign...?) And the jump sound is irritating, especially in the levels where you have to jump a lot (the beginning of the Mario homage, for example.) But the humor is good.

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:22pm

It took a while to figure out which parts of the building you were able to land on. The controls seems a little overly sensitive too. Very funny though, and and interesting take on the theme.

fil00dl says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:09pm

haha really hilarious... cheers!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:27pm

I loved jumping on the alien ships. Really nice job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]