Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kate

by LaFleur - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A moody puzzle/maze. Prepare for a challenge.
Made in Unity.

Controls:

space to start
mouse to look
wasd or arrows to move
left shift to open map
arrows to shift tiles on map

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#236Mood3.40
#320Audio3.12
#385Graphics3.37
#907Humor1.69
#927Overall2.81
#941Innovation2.62
#998Theme2.49
#1057Fun2.38

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:19am

Good game, especialy this labyrinth.

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:22am

I love the concept! The maze is a little hard to navigate though, very easy to get lost.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27am

Great atmosphere and music! I found the flowing water section and was intrigued but then I got too dizzy before I could find the next story bit.

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:29am

Super cute. Gorgeous pixel graphics and a nice idea.
Puzzling was hard. Did not reach the end.
The camera perspective makes me a bit ill. Perhaps because of the "near walls" or not being able to look up and down.

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:33am

Loved the hum of the violins and the color scheme is relaxing and lovely. It was a treat to find the pouring water and the eerie audio to contrast the constant string of red and gold walls. Stopped after that.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48am

Managed to find four of the water areas, but then I ended up too claustrophobic. Getting stuck on the walls and the tight corridors just got to me, I don't think I've ever had that happen to me on a game before. The audio was very well done though, and you really setup a great atmosphere.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:01am

Got stuck pretty quickly... but there's such a terrific atmosphear. Great job!

EMAK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:06am

Great game! reminde me the "cube" film, in more soft. great atmosphere!

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:27am

Amazing mood. The water reminded me of Lucas Arts games from long ago.
I couldn't find anything after the first water part though.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Music works really well at setting the mood but wondered around for awhile and couldn't figure out what to do.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Love mazes but did not find the exit.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Aha! Now that's a tricky little concept there. Nice aesthetics (feels a bit DOS circa early 90s, with AdLib). Really nice, well done!

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Maybe the walls are pretty close, it's a bit confusing but anyway i'm not good with maze games, good job :).

DeltaF1 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Really amazing mood and atmosphere, but I couldn't find my way past the first water area.

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Really cool concept, I really enjoy the pixel art and story aspect.
I think the game would be much more fun and easier if each square on the map was smaller. Also you walk/run way too fast and get stuck in walls constantly

muriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:45pm

I love the bg music well done :)

Steve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Very moody. Felt increasingly claustrophobic =/ Both in a good and bad way. Actually it started feeling like a horror game where you expect something to happen constantly and it didn't go away immediately when I stopped playing. Can't explain why. Maybe the title reminded me of Justine (the Amnesia dlc thing).

Graphics are beautiful, music is very nice but also unnerving after a while.

Gameplay wise, pretty confusing. No idea where to go or what shifting the map around did. So I wandered around randomly for a while.. Found the first water thing, no idea how, then nothing more after that.

Also, mouselook speed could be a little lower. And not being able to look up/down probably doesn't help the feeling of being locked in.

Graphics and mood: 5/5.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Got lost, hate it :)
nice music you have there

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:35pm

You created a great mood here. I love the art and the subtle glows. I unfortunately could not complete it because I was feeling claustrophobic, but I think people who like mazes will enjoy this.

jas7229 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Nice graphics, I loved the gold/pink combo and the water! I didn't end up playing too long because I ended up getting a bit dizzy ~ maybe slower camera panning/walking would have helped? Definitely a pretty maze game though!

Greg Klein says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:50am

Beautiful art and sound. However, I didn't understand how to read or use the map. I'm guessing that may have helped me navigate the maze.

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:27am

Nice graphics. I got lost in the labyrint and did't know what to do:(

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:44am

What a pity I suffered from motion sickness, I wasn't able to find all the keys.
But I appreciated the small tiles which accentuate the closed space feeling. I had some troubles with the moves friction, I wasn't able to easily go around the labyrinth, but it's a detail.
The atmosphere is really great, and I will give another try, I want to know what's happening there.

Kinta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:14am

Nice graphics, but the mouse sensitivity is way too high.

Conk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Confusion mixed with an ill feeling, maybe larger corridors and a few more land marks to stop that. Other than that though, good job! Really liked the audio and graphics.

slakhorn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Boring maze with music (very loud notes that are sustained for ~30 seconds each). A puzzle that's not explained at all. Wonky, overtly sensitive mouse controls. No thanks.

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Enjoyed this! Especially the atmosphere. Wish there had been a bit more variety so I wouldn't keep going around in circles, though.

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Nice game, congrats!

fauge says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:51am

mechanics were a little strange, good idea, maze got very confusing very fast

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:20am

Felt claustrophobic in a good, intentional, moody sort of way. The art/visual effects are beautiful, and the music fits perfectly. Only able to find one key though :(

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:12am

The music fit really well with the game. Really like the 3D pixel art style, it is a nice touch.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:16am

Really moody game, neat graphics, but it's way too easy to get lost in this maze.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:02am

Nice art and audio and effort for 48 hours. Echo most above comments. It's fundamentally not fun to be lost in a maze. I wasn't sure how the map/shifting blocks worked. I think it moved the blue walls in the map and opened up other areas? I found two fountains and called it quits, though. Wanted to see more.

buckslice says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Good music and graphics. Got lost before I could find whats wrong with Kate lol

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:18pm

I love the look and style, and I like the idea you were going for with the map. The maze was very hard to navigate, though. The controls were a bit sticky too when moving against walls.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:45pm

The atmosphere you create with this game walls combined with the music is awesome! Nice job! Nice pixelart!

Kate Kligman says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:39am

My name is Kate so I was trying to figure out how it knew my name for a few seconds while it loaded (long day). :-)

Interesting concept, I'm not good at maze games, but I loved the graphics and the relaxing atmosphere. The map was well done too.

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:43am

Difficult game, nice graphics and atmosphere. My team actually also made a maze game, but top-down. :) (Shameless auto-promo)

deepnight says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Very nice atmosphere! The controls are a bit too fast (especially the mouse view), though.
To be honest I gave up after a few minutes, wandering around in the maze. I managed to find the first 2 elements, but I couldn't find what to do after that.

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Great job on setting the mood. Pretty cool

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:33pm

I didn't manage to finish the game, found 7 keys and then got comletely stuck, o I didn't see the ending, nevertheless It has a very intriging concept and the atmosphere is very well done.

I have mainly 2 problems with the game which are, the camera being too zoomed in, and it moving so fast, I get dizzy realy quikly and after a while I was just desperate to find the last key because I wasn't feeling so well.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:09am

Interesting maze. Well done. I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/1LqxxVg5Vuk

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:25am

The mouse sensitivity is too high, I can't really play without going sick ;) but I like the graphics and the mood

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:27am

nice and clean. I really enjoyed the music. A great retro feel all around!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:47am

The atmosphere was quite good but I couldn't find what I was supposed to do apart from wander around collecting puzzle pieces. I found two of them but the others were elusive. Some kind of stronger hints would be appreciated. Good game nonetheless.

ATesh says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:59pm

I love the art and music, but there wasn't enough direction to know what to do. The mouse sensitivity was high so I was constantly bumping into walls.

Linusson says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Nice game for a 48 hour game. The mouse sensitivity was really high which made it quite hard to play, otherwise I would probably played some more to find all the keys.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:42am

Interesting...I didn't think I would ever say this, but the run speed was way too fast - making it easy to miss "exits"...

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Awesome mood

Stan Sypek says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:55am

Liked the music. Maze was way to confusing. Not sure how close I came to intended gameplay, as no idea what the game play was.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]