Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

World's Best

by PillowPigGames - Jam Entry

Here is the game we made.
Arrows to move.
Z to dash. There is a cool down.
X to attack.

Didn't have time for sounds or music and the game is full of bugs.

We are currently fixing and improving the game. When we are finished we will post a link to the improved version here.

Max - programming
Ben - graphics/animation
www.pillowpiggames.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#56Graphics(Jam)4.33
#192Humor(Jam)2.95
#322Fun(Jam)3.13
#343Mood(Jam)3.15
#345Overall(Jam)3.28
#572Innovation(Jam)2.70
#590Theme(Jam)2.60
#642Audio(Jam)1.67
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:22am

Really love the clean art style and soft colors.

iSamurai says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:34am

Very beautiful hand-drawn art style. The game is cute. The variety of enemy types adds more fun. By the way, the controls can be more fluid and the feedbacks of attacks can be more obvious :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:02am

I like the art style, but unfortunately when you walk in diagonal, you don't walk parallel to the edges of the cases.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:42am

beautiful illustrations, but the game is kinda hard. Movements like layers (layers damned) hinder little hum in Challenges.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:42am

Hi there. Love the look, not so much the feel - the way movement works is a tad awkward. The combat animations are great!

mcapraro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:44am

really love the visual style with this one, great job!

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:13am

I love this sketchy graphics. I don't know if there should be no collisions.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:44am

Visuals asre impressiv. At rest game is very laggy and primitive.

megaelliott says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:53am

I like this game, it's very cute with its graphic design and the composition of world feels quite natural. The gameplay could be worked on as walking in general is a bit awkward especially as walking diagonally doesn't move you in a parallel direction to the blocks in the game. It's forgiveable for the amazing ammount of charm this game has however.

I would love to see more of this game. you've done a great job with it.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Really neat graphics style. The gameplay is nice too. Problems are the bad performance and the controls. Please provide alternative controls for non-qwerty keyboard layouts.

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:36am

awesome game, and art - i love that shadow dude too, did he have a buster sword? anyways, reminded me lots of the behemoth.
i love the way you did the projectiles and stuff

ruerob says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Very nice visuals. I would like to see the game when it's programmed further. Thank you for your game.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:17pm

This is a really solid entry! I liked the variety of enemies. You didn't waste a moment of our time doing something we'd already done before, and the fight with the shadow monster (where I lost and, sadly, didn't continue due to lack of checkpointing) was extremely novel. Controls were really, really sticky. My movement would get stuck and I could dash usually only about 10% of the time when I hit the key, which was frustrating because I felt like I kept unfairly taking damage. Really liked the world design and the multi-level environments, with a satisfying lock-and-key design system. Thank you for the game!

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Beautiful art style! Some weirdness in character layering which made it difficult to see where the enemy was in relation to me.

spolsh says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:50am

Liked graphics style but gameflow is too slow.

BeardaNeerz says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:12am

The art is awesome !!

Danman9914 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:16am

Awesome graphics, could have used a cooldown indicator for the dash and a less harsh death penalty!

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:01am

Awesome graphics!

ClownAround says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:33am

Great art style. Fits the game perfectly.

Dans17 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:53am

I think there is more to the game then what I was able to play. The four enemies at the start didn't move or attack me and I could kill three of them but the fourth was invincible and I didn't see anything else to do. I'm playing the web version on chrome. I assume this is a bug?

andrewkennedy says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:23am

The gameplay itself was really nice and the art was very charming, but the movement was so slow.

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:33pm

The game is fun and I really like the graphics. Good job ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]