Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dead Weight

by ponywolf - Jam Entry

Trapped between heaven and some other place, Dead Weight is the story of two frenemies who embark on an epically short quest. Discover a fresh tilt-based platformer where the two sides of the afterlife are physically connected by a very short leash.

This submission is Android ONLY with an iOS and other ports coming after the competition.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme(Jam)4.51
Coolness65%
#14Innovation(Jam)4.26
#29Overall(Jam)4.05
#53Fun(Jam)3.76
#62Humor(Jam)3.62
#92Audio(Jam)3.74
#103Graphics(Jam)4.16
#147Mood(Jam)3.58

Comments

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Brilliant use of theme, especially with tilting on mobile devices. The graphics were also very nice.

eastes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:23pm

My girlfriend wants it to be more difficult. Thanks for making it. Loved the theme and music.

cstudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:24pm

nice graphics, good idea

PixelMind says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Couldn't try it but looks like a great concept on video.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Spectacular :) Nice mechanics and theme

shasharala says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:10pm

That was very nice! The theme was applied very well.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:02am

This is awesome! You have a super nice game here. It's an interesting idea and it works very well on Android . Didn't finish the whole thing yet but I'm going to keep playing it.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:21am

Wow very well executed and presented. The little story going on there on the signs had me smile.
I think the mechanocs work well for mobile devices and it was fun every time especially because of the changing music.. So cool I wish there was more :-)

SojaBird says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Waaaaaat full 5 star this is amazing! Expand a little and sell this bad boy!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Doesn't install on my device (Android 2.3.6 API 10 - Samsung Galaxy Pocket). The package installer finishes with 'Application not installed'. I also tried installing on an avd, but couldn't figure out how to do it.

ponywolf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:28pm

It should only require Android 2.3.3, but we are doing OpenGL effects, so some older devices might struggle. Thanks for giving it a shot!

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:58pm

I can't play it (no Android phone), but the video looks very interesting. Nice use of the hell/heaven style. I like how both characters are chained together, even they are of the opposite sides.

Majko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Awesome.

LudusPactum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Very cool idea. I love how it plays out. I download it and play it in my way to work, totally worth the time!

radmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:16pm

woah! awesome game. really nice use of the theme, clever and fun gameplay & slick graphics. Really dig it. Runs great on my phone too :D All around amazing game!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Just watched the video. BRILLIANT idea. Looks beautiful, sounds awesome (especially the change between worlds!). Great work, ponywolf!

ponywolf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:30pm

@radmars I love your team's games too. I was one of the (minor) contributors to melonJS last year, and I saw some of your stuff then. Your current entry is crazy good as well.

vandriver says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Great job!

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Brilliant game! I love how you are literally connected XD, awesome graphics, great music. Well done!

My only complaint is that the controls feel very unresponsive sometimes on my Nexus 5

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:24pm

no way to play this for me unfortunately BUT the video looks great and thanks for uploading it. I love the music and the game looks fun.

radmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:34pm

@ponywolf <3<3 thanks! MelonJS + Tiled have been really great to work with. Ima pester our devs to contribute some of our stuff one of these days :3

ratking says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Nearly perfect entry, great idea!

Hexadecima1 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:34am

Charming, polished, clever and beautiful. The controls were a little weird at times. Making it mobile only was a good descision, it wouldn't work as well or be as intuitive elsewhere.

PinkNinja says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Very good idea and use of the theme. Nice gameplay :D Good work!

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:21am

I absolutely love this, you were able to make a rather complicated game on the phone, and the use of theme was really good. That being said, I feel like platforming was hard and would be easier on a device other than a phone using tilt. Still love it though. We also made a game, check it out if you haven't already. (I don't really remember all the names in the comments for our game)

timtipgames says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:37am

I am not a big fan of tilt controls in mobile games, but these were well executed! Love the idea and am happy to see another mobile only game in the jam.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:57am

Am I doing it wrong or is there only two levels? I'm really frustrated now, which means this game is really good. Very clever use of the themes and of the tilt mechanics.

mactinite says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Really awesome mechanic, works really well on mobile. The only weird thing is that it seems as though you collide with the collectibles and that felt weird. Anyways, awesome job!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:51pm

hahaha, nice game! :D I love this core concept.

DrCicero says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:08pm

3;) --o--o--o-- (: O
-€

ponywolf says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:51pm

@mactinte Yeah, the concept was the collectables would do damage to the character who wasn't on top, but we ran out of time to get the UI stuff for that working... So I left the the collectables as physical kind of things.

When i get a chance I want to spend a day just cleaning it up and putting the rest of the graphics the team made into it.

Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Really good idea and mechanics. Graphics are very nice. Would be great with more levels / challenges / if you can die.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]