Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Schizophrenia

by Sogomn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare and Id like to recieve some constructive criticism. There may be some bugs when switching modes while standing "in" a wall.
The game is about speed. You need to complete it fast in order to beat your highscore. Can you beat mine (it's on the image)?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#50Fun3.87
#130Overall3.71
#179Theme3.76
#264Mood3.34
#316Humor2.76
#468Innovation3.27
#509Graphics3.16
#614Audio2.61

Comments

Spacemyname says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:23am

Very fun! Nice concept!

pokeplun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:33am

Interesting Concept. Although on your submission page, you should change "all platforms" to ".Jar" or "Java" so people know they need Java to run it.

Jaloko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:25am

Awesome game, I really liked the mechanics. I will look at your source for your method of collision.

tchem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:58am

nice game.. i like it.

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:13am

great job!

Gravity Games says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:16am

I'm not sure if maybe I'm doing something wrong, but the game locks up upon attempting to jump...also, part of the directions are outside of the screen for me. If it helps, I ran it on a machine with 64-bit Ubuntu Linux.

@Jaloko That's probably a bad idea. As Ludum Dare entries are not automatically open source, you should get permission from Sogomn before implementing his code.

Jaloko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:29am

@Gravity Games, Ok, I thought you were allowed to learn from other peoples sources.

ReactorScram says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:38am

I'm on 64-bit Arch and the directions text is messed up for me, too.

Also, if you are thinking of multiple personalities, that's actually called Dissociative Identity Disorder. Schizophrenia is more like delusions, paranoia, and hallucinations.

It's pretty hard, I got stuck somewhere after the falling blocks. They would often fall before I was ready to jump.

Sogomn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:57am

First of all, thank you for the feedback!
Ill try to fix the bugs appearing on some systems.
Of course all of you are allowed to use my source code. Its messy anyway.

kidando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:57am

Awesome concept. Plus congrats on finishing your game. I liked it

rohin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:29am

Very nice side scroller!

nbilyk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:32am

This is fun.
Overall this could be a very fun platformer, but there are a couple things that drove me nuts -
When you die, just restart automatically, don't make me press R, the faster I'm back to trying again the better.
The problem with needing to press R is that on the hard levels I start hitting R too much and then hit it by accident.
The falling blocks level (lvl 4 or something), was too frustrating for a few reasons, the R to reset, and you start off with 3 escalating jumps without falling blocks that are well placed for the jump naturally, but then you move to 3 escalating jumps that fall and they're too close together

Sogomn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:39am

@nbilyk: Many people told me that. Gonna implement it right away! Thanks for the feedback!

Otopkin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:50am

I know you want constructive criticism but instead I'll only tell you it was pretty fun >:)
ain't i evil

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:31am

I love it ^^! The name reminds me of my entry because my game was partially inspired by a group on facebook named "Schizophrenia" ;D.

anssipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33am

Really nIce, but could tune those physics a bit. I mean the less jump force and less gravity. The problems where you have to switch personality while in air get too hard because of too much gravity.

MRvanderPants says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:58am

I love how smooth the gameplay felt. Really cool idea!

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:25am

It looks better than mine :/ the mobs in mine dont spawn propely

Belvar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:59am

beated it in 634.1 :p
The last level was really challenging but in a good way, i.e. I didn't blame the game for losing.
The physics may need some polish but it was very fun to play nonetheless.

maike says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Really great game, my only complaints are:
(1) having to restart the game all the way from the beginning, this can be really annoying
(2) can only restart pressing 'r' - how about just restarting my pressing space?
(3) I'd much rather prefer awsd and arrow keys for movement/jump and then use 'space' to switch mode. Of course this third comment is about preference but I think that if you're using 'space' to jump and 'enter' to switch mode then your hands are pretty far apart, unless of course you use your one hand for all movement/jumping. I recommend that you try to use the arrow keys for movement, space for jumping and enter for switching mode and then see how it feels.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Very nice game, I liked the concept as well. On the other hand, the jumping physics wasn't all that great.

Sogomn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07pm

I tried to implement most of the advices you gave me. Thank's for that. Unfortunately I cant change the gravity that easy sinve I used integers for the positions and the speed since I don't know a proper collisions for floats. The gravity is already on '1'. Thank you for your help improving my game!

theCoder15 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Nice game

concalf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Fun to play.
A minor complaint: it would have helped if menu and game controls were more in line :)

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:38pm

This is good for a first time! :) Miscellaneous feedback: The difficulty was just right for me, I think, and I beat it in 272.1. The concept has definitely been done before (e.g. "Eversion") but this didn't overstay its welcome. I thought the controls were kind of stiff (no air deceleration?) at first but I appreciated the precision in the last level. The color contrast of the "angry" mood was pretty low. You can still press (or hold) space and shift after you die; why not just have space restart? It's weird that I have to press "escape" to start after launching the game. Thanks for providing arrow-key/shift/space for us old timers! :)

arbiccdheife says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:45am

Great entry overall...especially for your first time ever doing Ludum Dare. As others have said it's pretty tough..I got most of the way through the 3rd level and couldn't advance. The menu/default controls were a little counter-intuitive but that's just nitpicking.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Hey, i think this game is fun and the idea is pretty good !

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Great game! Welcome to Ludum Dare! I wasn't any good at this game though. Bit too challenging for me.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Faster respawn/restart of the level you are on woul make this much much better. Any game where you die this much needs have instant respawn, so it is not punishing the player. Controls were a little awkward but overall this could be a great game with some more work and polish. I liked the puzzle aspect of it. Great job on your first jam.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:40am

I liked how you could rebind your keys. You definitely need two hands so enter actually wasn't a terrible default choice.

Fairly fun with a good jump. Could use checkpoints or shorter levels. Or you could train the player/prepare them earlier in the game for the future.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:26pm

This game was very fun. I especially enjoyed the speedrun aspect. I kind of want to try speedrunning this game now.

Wertle says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:49am

I'd recommend making the default binding for mode switching on a key that doesn't force you to lift your hand away from the arrows or space. Since this game is about speed and precision, I'd recommend ghosting the platforms for the other phase (similar to things like Guacamelee, Fly'n, Outland, etc). Without a ghost of the platforms the switching is more exploratory, which suits itself to a slower pace.

Nick Weihs says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:51am

Very difficult game. Couldn't make it past the 3rd level. I think difficulty could ramp up a lot easier if your gravity and jump strength were lower. The level design was good and you explored a lot of different jumping puzzles using simple mechanics. One final note, your main menu was very difficult to read with the scrolling background.

Agecaf says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Quite a very good work in terms of making the game in time constraints (Good enough graphics, good enough mechanics). There were a couple of annoying things though; mainly having to wait (reload) to retry the level.

Sogomn says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:55pm

@Agecaf: Yep, didn't have time to fix that. I did it in the latest version tho. Sorry for that.

pansapiens says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:24am

Great use of the theme. I suspect it was intentional in the design (to ultimately encourage impressive speedruns), but I felt the run speed was too fast. A few nicely designed platform-toggling challenges in there though, great stuff.

MintArcade says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Nice visuals and good use of the theme. Although platformers are not my favourite game genre - this one is a nice one. I enjoyd playing, than you.

Sep 16, 2014 @ 3:52am

Other than the name, cool game! I included it in part 29 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/dd4UkBLKHXI

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]