Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

End of Society

by Cruion - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: Might be unresponsive in Chrome webplayer. If it is unresponsive for you please reload or try an alternative browser. The continue button clicking issue is intermittent so I'm not quite sure why Unity webplayer and Chrome are not playing nice.

----------------
End of Society
----------------
In the distance future, the resources of your dimension have been over mined and are almost exhausted. You have been given the responsibility of ensuring the survival of your society.

Goal: Survive as long as possible without running out of vital resources.

Controls:
Mouse to select different planets, the portal and activate/deactivate resource production.

Features:
Each play through will be slightly different as you will start with a different distribution of resources, resources will decay at different rates and planets have different generation rates.
10 different vital resources, 8 luxury resources.
3 levels of resources production tree.
Running out of money isn't the end of society. You can go into debt on upkeep but not purchase new ships or production facilities.

Created Using:
Unity3D, Visual Studio 2013, Illustrator, Audacity, Photoshop

------------------------------------------------------------

In the distance future, the resources of your dimension have been over mined and are almost exhausted. You have been given the responsibility of ensuring the survival of your society.

You have found your way into a different uninhabited dimension that you can exploit to ensure your survival. Construct production facilities in this dimension and send the spoils back to your society through the portal.

You have a limited amount of resources available to you some of which are vital to your survival and others which will make you some extra money.

You have AE100,000. AE is the currency of your society. If you run out of AE, your society will continue but you will no longer be able to buy more facilities.

You will need to purchase cargo ships to transport resources from one planet to another and to the portal back to our dimension. As you purchase more cargo ships the price will increase so make sure you use them effectively.

Each planet can have four outbound cargo ship routes. There is no limit on inbound cargo ship routes.

Each planet is capable of producing all the types of resources however the production facilities need to be purchased and upkeep needs to be paid when they are producing. Luxury resources will generate more income when set through the portal.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#687Theme3.07
#768Innovation2.87
#868Graphics2.60
#927Overall2.81
#1047Fun2.40
#1836Coolness28%

Comments

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:45am

Very diverse game, I like it, buttons have an awkward hitbox though.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:54pm

I wish I could actually click on the buttons so I would enjoy this game. :(

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Not bad game

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:02pm

I cannot click the "continue" button in webplayer, I'm stuck at the starting screen.

Cruion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:16pm

The not being able to hit continue button appears to be a problem on the webplayer when running Chrome. I'm not quite sure why it is is happening but it only affects some launches of the game. Refreshing or trying in a different browser should hopefully work.

Unfortunately I also didn't make the text on the buttons the clickable part so the text is not part of the button.

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Prrtty complex game for a 48 hours compo, good job

Shmarah says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Web link doesn't work; Can't play. :-(

Cruion says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:15am

@Shmarah My web host decided to not auto renew my domain. Have rehosted through dropbox for the time being until the host fixes the problem.

Capitals says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:08pm

The buttons had a real awkward thing going on... it made it difficult to play. Regardless I enjoyed playing this.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Buttons were really hard to click. Took me a while to figure out what I had to do.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]