Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Connection

by jas7229 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare entry! :D

Two siblings have been separated into 2 different worlds! Luckily, one has the ability to fly and go find the other, while the other can take care of obstacles in the way through the special connection they share. Will you help them reunite together?

I started out with graphics, moved on to music~ then finally got around to some gameplay and programming...which probably shows a little, haha. Used Inkscape, Audacity/Garageband, and Stencyl.

Overall I'm super happy with the result though, especially having taken liberal sleeping/eating/real life breaks :P

Please give it a try and let me know what you think!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#89Audio3.65
#110Graphics3.97
#124Mood3.61
#250Innovation3.56
#297Overall3.47
#443Fun3.17
#527Theme3.30
#728Humor2.10
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

eatsleepindie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:26am

After figuring out my favored hand/mouse/keyboard combination (love games that make me rethink where to put my hands to get the best score) I managed a score of 60 (I also love games that make you want to brag about your score). What a great game. The intro is incredible, followed up with a fun & beautiful game that is quick to pick up but will be a challenge to master. The music selection is the cherry on top.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:28am

Beautiful, though I am really really bad at it :)

greysphere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:24am

Cool game. Interesting way to add gameplay to flappy bird. I feel like people who've worked w/ cash registers will have an advantage!

shico says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:28am

This game looks pretty good, too bad I'm terrible at it.

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:19am

Cool concept, very difficult though.

Beautiful palette.

FerrenReve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:24am

Nice concept for controls. Haven't seen numpad use in a while.

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:26am

Great art and good concept , abit hard but nice :D
I actually didn't manage to make high score I suck at this style of games :D but still I liked and don't know if you did or not but it will be good if the more the players the faster it become .

polarkac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:39am

It looks good. Music is too short, after some time its really annoying.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:44am

The title screen was nicely done and the colour choices worked really well. Liked the concept and the way you had to think about the two different concepts at once. Clever game.

Ossi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:00am

Nice idea, I really like the use of dual controls. It's really tough during the narrow parts, I always get pushed off screen! Well done!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:52pm

An interesting take on the Flappy Bird mechanic. Looks wonderful.

micahcowan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Gorgeous and fun. Like the intro. Nice way to make me exercise two different parts of my brain at the same time.

Kinta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:05am

Awesome graphics, the music was nice, but way too loud. I liked the gameplay, but I was pretty bad at it. ^^

ATTA Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:07am

Great entry! Nice idea about control with numpad.

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:09am

+Intro
+color
-what can i do with the numbers?
-theme

Simon@LD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:26am

Congrats on your first entry! The art and music were very good. Using the numpad is an interesting concept i haven't seen a lot before. Cheers!

CatOnMars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:40pm

+Title screen is gorgeous.
+Nice music
+Innovative control scheme

-control scehme is a bit complex
-no sound effects
-slow tempo

Overall: Not bad, keep working!

Vytheros says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:43pm

The control scheme is pretty unique, had to switch to the line of numbers after a while. I only got 23 though :(

Hexadecima1 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:18am

I enjoyed this overall, I would probably have done better if I had a numpad. I really like it when games have challenges that extend into the meatspace.
(I'm the guy who wrote about this on PoemsAboutGames.tumblr.com btw)

LaFleur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:14am

Very pretty game, and quite challenging too! Well done!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Beautiful music, petty nice graphics, good concept and idea! I like this game, 5 out of 5!

ceosol says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:02am

I like the overall concept. It runs very smoothly for the amount of content you included (enemies, fireballs, obstacles, gates, flapping and numpad). I did not pick up too much on the theme. However, I think you could have used two game modes at the same time as connecting two worlds or even two game archetypes being connected.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:32am

Nice music

Natrium729 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:53pm

The graphics are fantastic (especially the title screen) and the gameplay is good; too bad it is difficult without a numpad. But it is something I would play on a touchscreen, if it has some more modes.

grayhaze says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:08pm

A simple, but really well thought out game that manages to handle performing two separate tasks simultaneously in an intuitive way. I'd like to see this expanded with other tasks utilising the keypad, such as sums. Well done! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]