Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Severed Worlds

by Rob Glen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Instructions:
WASD - move
Left Click - Interact
Right Click - Shield
F (hold) - Map
ESC - Quit to menu

Objective: Activate the weird things to reconnect the torn worlds!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#412Audio2.94
#519Humor2.38
#662Theme3.12
#842Mood2.66
#1029Innovation2.42
#1121Fun2.15
#1123Graphics2.09
#1128Overall2.46

Comments

Eli says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:00pm

It's a little too zoomed in, maybe it would be better a bit zoomed out. Also, a little more action. Otherwise it's an interesting game.

Adjotur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:02pm

A bit more direction would have been nice. I was completely lost half the time and I didn't know if I was somewhere I'd already been. Other than that, I liked the concept. It was fun to be able to interact with all the scattered NPC's.

vandriver says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:41pm

i like the exploratory nature of this. i don't think it needs more direction. However, it could use a bit more speed in movement or smaller worlds. The portal world was the right size. Fitting music as well.

ehtd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Really liked the music, it was relaxing. Not sure if it has an end. Activated the 4 small things and the big thing, then game continued.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:46pm

fun idea, would have been nice if I could have found health or avoided being shot but still fun

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:37am

The music was nice, gameplay was a little slow and I wasn't sure what to do. I clicked the weird objects, but they didn't seem to do anything. I might be back to give it another try, though. Nice effort for 48 hours!

mattperrin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:42am

Clever idea. I think I beat it...? Great music.

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:55am

Getting to the world where all four have been connected into one is when it finishes. I didn't want the game to have a hard ending, but I probably should have at least signposted the fact that the game had finished.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:40am

Townsfolk looks much more scarier than portal imo :DDDD

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:43pm

I liked that you could interact with anything and anyone. Too slow paced for my liking- I can see the idea of an exploration game, but it was a tad repetitive, and I just walked around in search patterns to find the weird things. It would've been nice with a few different landmarks to get your bearings.
An interesting idea nonetheless, and the music added a nice "mystery" feel to it.

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Like the music, not sure what all I needed to do, as others have said the camera makes it difficult. But I liked it!

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:07am

The music was nice. That map feature is really helpful, because it would be hard for me to navigate the world otherwise. Fits the theme well.

mramaizng says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Took me a while to figure out that the weird things were active when I clicked on them; some kind of visual cue there would have helped. Also, was there anything to do with the houses? Everything had a door, but nothing seemed interactive. Other than that, it was pretty cool.

Oh yeah and... Ads :/

Glaydur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:52pm

That was a satisfying game to finish.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:23pm

This game had one of the most mysterious vibes to it that I've played this LD, probably because its so zoomed in. Solid entry . Good luck :)

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Nice concept, atmospheric music, particularaly like the ability to zoom the map. I agree that the camera could do with being a little further out, it would also be great to have a little more npc's and environmental objects but really get the time restriction!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Kinda too close in, but it's a really interesting game! Great job!

tbam says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Nifty idea, little bit more help would've been great.

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Good job, a bit confusing tho

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:54am

Camera zoom is a bit too tight for my taste. Or maybe it was the vastness of the first level. :) Other than that, a solid game! :) Liked the portal world.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:46pm

The characters and music gave it a cool creepy vibe, but it would have been nice to see stats (life, weird things activated, etc) on screen all the time.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]