Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Jack and the Rotating Worlds

by owyoow - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Jack and the Rotating Worlds is a 2D platformer where you can switch between worlds to find all the orbs to open the door.

Controls:
left/right arrows: move
up/down arrows: switch worlds
space: jump
left-shift: run

I ended up using Unity3d with 2D Toolkit.
for sound brfx and music generated from abundant-music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#136Theme3.83
#375Audio3.00
#443Fun3.17
#471Overall3.29
#519Humor2.38
#534Mood3.00
#583Graphics3.06
#827Innovation2.80

Comments

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Great stuff! I only wish there were checkpoints!

jab says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Loved the art style and music. Quite polished, I enjoyed it!

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:49pm

I like the aesthitic it has and i know how hard used to be physics for 2D games in Unity, good job.

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:50pm

That's very good man, good gameplay and gfx, nice mechanics.
but I don't like the sounds :P

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Nice walk cycle on your character! It looks like it accelerates? Nice touch.

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Nice use of the theme. I like that there's more than 2 worlds (unlike most games I've played so far). Also the transition between worlds is funky. I had fun but didn't finish, mostly because I got to about 40 points and then died - checkpoints would make it a lot better!

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Great game. Love the music. GJ.

owyoow says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Thanks for your comments. I was planning to have checkpoints in the game but ran out of time unfortunately. I will update the game with checkpoints after the compo

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Pretty cool game, wish there had been checkpoints because the controls are little clunky and some precise jumping is needed every now and then. Otherwise sounds and plays well.

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Nice idea :) The jump sound is a bit too loud compare to the music, and as we often have to jump, I had to play without sound after two min haha !
But pretty cool game, good job !

Love the character, though :D

Maek says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:47pm

A jump and run game...

gnuwind says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:32am

Nice game with a awsome idea about change world.

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:16am

It's fun, I really like it.

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:57am

I had a fun playing the game. Nice graphics.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:40am

Playing this made me feel very calm and peaceful for some reason... Great music and innovation!

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Liked the exploration in this, and the controls were pretty floaty but in a good way; they made the game more challenging.

Needs checkpoints IMO. Like, maybe make the last portal you used the checkpoint. Graphics were suitable, and sound was pretty ok. I would have used a more calm and zen track instead of the happy feel track that is in the game, but that's just my own taste :). Good luck!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:21pm

The main sprite looks great and it's most definitely on theme.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Cool game. My only complaint is that it's annoying to have to start over whenever you die. It looked and sounded great though.

Xentira says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Nicely done!

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:29am

Quite a challenge!

lorniebear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:54pm

I like it! Especially the cute little man running round. I love the way that he is ever so slightly slippery

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Simply put, So very tastefully done. Great job! this game is fantastic. it felt very adventure oriented. Very fun, reminds me of classic platformers. Great music too.

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Great game!

Endurion says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:54am

Can't fairly vote. That's the first Unety game that won't run for me.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Nice game! I wish there were checkpoints too. With the amount of spheres to collect it can get very repetitive to have to start again every time. Good effort!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]