Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Day in the Life

by VEloc1tY - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In 2332, trading routes have become unsafe again, just as your father retired and left you his old cargo ship. Dangerous zones aren't something what young pilots are longing for, but you have no other choice if you want to carry on family tradition. Although past couple of flights have been calm and peaceful, you don't feel like civilian ship will be only type of vessel you're going to fly with.

* * *

Use the following controls: W - Thrust, S - Thurst Backward, MOUSE - Rotate, LEFT MOUSE BUTTON - Shoot(When available) , ENTER - To accept quests, SPACE - To decline quests, TAB - Toggle Waypoint (When available), ESC - Pause/In-game menu.
**When landing on a planet, try to land it on the back of the vessel as shown in one of the screenshots. otherwise the player will explode and die**

* * *

Tools
Photoshop: http://www.photoshop.com/
bfxr: http://www.bfxr.net/
Guitar Pro: http://www.guitar-pro.com/

Framework
Unity: http://unity3d.com/

* * *

EDIT:
I also added a post comp version introducing the minimap.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#551Humor2.33
#708Theme3.04
#750Audio2.31
#820Fun2.74
#862Graphics2.61
#944Mood2.50
#950Overall2.79
#962Innovation2.56

Comments

dusho says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:06pm

managed to crash into planets several times.. there should be some indication how close planet is with that arrow..

VEloc1tY says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Thanks for the feedback. I agree there should be distance indicator on top of the location indicator. Just a tip, if you spot the planet on time, and face away from it(positioning the back of the vessel toward the planet) you will land successfully(even if you were going full speed prior to landing).

JNyknn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:55am

The space is somehow empty, it's hard to find a planet. Some kind of mini-map would be nice.

buckslice says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:03am

I just flew around backwards the whole time so I wouldn't crash into a planet lol. The first encounter with enemies was pretty brutal though and I died. Perhaps makes their lasers shoot slower so you can try to dodge? Fun game though, nice work.

DDFranky says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:06am

As dusho said: an indication would be great! The best would be changing the size of the arrow based on the distance from the planet: smaller if the planet is far away and bigger when you are approaching the planet.

VEloc1tY says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:22am

@JNyknn: Yes, it is quite empty. This was my first LD entry, and I'm moderately experienced with Unity, so I haven't had enough time to put extra stuff in the space. And yes, an minimap would be really nice.

@buckslice: Lol, that's one way to do it. :) Yes, that first encounter(and the second if you manage to get there) is quite hard at first, but if you understand how the AI(enemy ship) attack and work, you can easily manipulate that into your advantage. :)

@DDFranky: Thanks for the feedback! :)


Anyway, has anyone been able to beat the game?

mattperrin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:10am

Was flying around and crashed into a planet and I swear my dog jumped three feet in the air from the "BOOM!" sound effect. lol... Props on finishing, welcome to LD! :)

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:15am

the graphics are not very good, and the direction arrow is hard to see, but I had a lot of fun playing this, I like it!

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:21pm

its like galactic mail nice particle effect on the ship fuel need some enemies loved smashing into the planet my heart sang with joy

MaesK says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:14am

I'm definitely not good at handling cargo in any Ludum Dare Game :D This time, at least, I didn't crashed at the first planet. Nice game, I like the controls, too bad I died before shooting anything. Good work.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]