Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spirit Shift

by RhythmLynx - Jam Entry

Spirit Shift is a multi-dimensional infinite runner.

Control the spirit forms of three worlds and use your Shift power to escape the collapse. Use your Dash power to blast through obstacles and don't forget to Shift again before time runs out! If you dash through an obstacle you can dash and jump again in mid air.

A or K to jump.
S or L to dash.
Space to world shift.
M to mute/unmute.

Art:
Cameron Moore - @_illucam
Tobias Cook - tghcook@gmail.com

Programming:
Connor Halford - codetrip.weebly.com
Rachel Crawford - @nershly

Music:
"Eternal Wings" by Mokhov via Beatpick.com

Made using GameMaker Studio and Photoshop. Everything was made within the 72 hours except the background music. This is the first jam for some and second for others, and it's the first time we've worked together.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#60Graphics(Jam)4.32
#103Theme(Jam)3.75
#139Mood(Jam)3.60
#168Overall(Jam)3.55
#168Innovation(Jam)3.46
#231Humor(Jam)2.80
#246Audio(Jam)3.36
#338Fun(Jam)3.11
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:44am

Cool game. That zoom is trippy!

dadman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:51am

Very pretty - I can see a lot of work went into those running animations. It's fun to try and keep track of the world you're about to switch to to make sure you'll actually land on something as a kind of multi-tasking thing.

borgi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:33pm

It was kind of hard to me, but the zoom is awesome, and I liked the graphics too! Nice game!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Super gorgeous graphics, both the backgrounds and the sprites, and the scrolling backgrounds are awesome. Music was fitting but got repetitive. Very difficult game, my highscore after 5-10 minutes was 850.

If the jumps changed height depending on how long you held the button, that would help a lot. As it was, so often I was put in certain-death situations and could only spam the change-world button and pray. I could barely work to time my jumps on the foreground layer, let alone pay any attention to the back.

arhpositive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Nicely detailed graphics with hard but decent gameplay elements. My highscore was only 475 and I restarted a lot of times, just couldn't get the hang of switching at the right moment, I guess.

Good game but can be improved in so many ways in the future. :)

SkyWolf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:13pm

very hard to play, but sounds and looks great. that zoom effect is rad.

RhythmLynx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Thanks very much for the feedback everyone!
@dickpoelen - The zoom took AGES
@dadman - Cameron spent the whole jam animating, glad you can tell :)
@borgi - Thank you!
@adrenalinehigh_Jam - Toby did all the environment artwork and has the current high score of 3458!
@arhpositive - I (Connor) sucked for ages, eventually it just kind of 'clicks'
Again, thank you!

RhythmLynx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:19pm

@SkyWolf - Thanks, seems like general consensus is it's way too hard, good to know!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Thanks for making a game hardcore gamers will appreciate! Graphics were amazing!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:26am

I never quite got the hang of it, but the concept is really cool! I also really liked the aesthetics.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:31am

Really nice game. Really enjoyed the graphics and feel of it all. I think the deer one was my favorite :)

xxmicloxx says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:47am

Very cool, nice idea!

cstudios says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:54am

WOW! The animation is wonderful, the art, the colors, the mechanics are amazing. The music is great, its not boring for a annoying for a longer term (its a common problem with LD games). Does the animals symbolise something? Or you just decided those to fit the color scheme (red, green, blue)?

BroCade says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:54am

Gorgeous

RhythmLynx says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:56am

@nerd burglars - Glad you like it :)
@TeamQuadratic - Takes a long time for it to 'click', probably too long for a LD game
@Rage Paint - Thank you very much, the deer gave Rachel no end of problems...
@xxmicloxx - Cheers :)
@cstudios - That's very kind of you. Originally each character was just going to be a creature suited to that world, with the fox belonging to the forest world. The creature for the fire world was going to be a komodo dragon or monitor lizard, but Cameron realised the run cycle would look boring, so we moved the fox to the fire world and added the deer. That's when the idea of each creature being the 'spirit animal' for their world took hold
@BroCade - Thanks!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Reminds me of Robot Unicorn Attack, but with a nice gimmick. Well done.

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Beautiful graphics, the animals moved so gracefully! Nice gameplay, shifting between 3 animals.

mystakin says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:50am

Pretty neat infinite runner. The world shift effect is awesome and I really enjoyed the aesthetic of the game.

RhythmLynx says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:30pm

@kibertoad - Cheers, RUA was an influence on the project
@elefantopia - Thank you :)
@mystakin - Thanks, there's now a post about the view shifting here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/09/09/world-transitions-manipulating-viewports-in-spirit-shift/

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:19am

Wow, beautiful. Mesmerizing, even. But it's a bit difficult.

mcapraro says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:26pm

neat style and concept!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]