Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Elemental Connection

by Rialgar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple puzzle game, mouse/touch only

Tested in Chrome and FF under Windows and Android.
Best in Chrome.

If case of color blindness: I am sorry, I could not check if the colors are still distinguishable, I know no color blind people. I hope it is playable for you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#81Innovation3.94
#107Fun3.69
#130Overall3.71
#508Mood3.05
#520Theme3.31
#1112Graphics2.12

Comments

garygreen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:26pm

I don't normally go for puzzle games, but I enjoyed yours. Nice work. Was there a Start again button? I got stuck on one of the later puzzles and couldn't see how to restart it without going back to the beginning.

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:46pm

really enjoyed this game. initially I thought it didn't load. the screenshots helped :D

Rialgar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:56pm

@garygreen, you can remove any connection by just redrawing it from its start. This will also reset all dots, which are purely asthetic anyways.

TGL says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:06pm

A great minimalistic puzzle game

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:12pm

I'm actually amazed how simple but fun this is. Very good job

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Very engaging... I played it longer than I expected. It took me a second to figure out to drag - I'm using a touchpad so it wasn't an intuitive thing to try. Some simple relaxing sound could help the mood, but overall I really enjoyed it.

Rahazan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:43am

Great puzzle games, new mechanics are introduced at a rate that is managable. It's fun and requires some out of the box thinking, it was sometimes however not clear which lines could cross and which could not.

Managed to finish it :)

Rialgar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:26am

@Rahazan they are supposedto be the 4 elements, and opposites can't cross. Namely Water(blue) <-> Fire(red) and Earth(green) <-> Air(Yellow), I thought about explaining that in-game, but I liked the minimalistic approach more, so took the Risk of player confusion

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Well thought out elegant mechanics! very innovative.

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Soooo goood!

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Yay puzzle games! It took a bit to figure out the rules of what could cross what, but I like that it was introduced slowly enough that we *could* figure it out by ourselves. I think the mobile / touch interface probably works better than a mouse. A lot of fun though. Also, this:

https://imgur.com/gCBs6hu

:)

Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Eggcellent game. I love puzzle games, and this one is great.

banana4life says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Sometimes a little bit confusing.

JNyknn says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:45pm

My first impression was: "What? Only two shapes! How can I control them?". But when I figured out how to play, I realized how intelligent and fun this game is.

tbam says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:29pm

One of the best puzzlers I've played on the site. Really neat mechanics, and I was never too confused for long. A better hint/introduction on which colors can overlap would have been nice though.

DvanderAart says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Thank you? But I want more!

whalebot says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:12pm

You should definitely polish this up a bit for mobile. This game was very entertaining to play through.

Digiraze says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Great puzzle game!

MaesK says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Awesome idea, it must be veeery enjoyable with a pen tablet. Anyway, first maze was too difficult as a third level. Maybe a more carefully planned increase of difficulty would be great. Anyway, it is a great puzzle game, good execution, nice work.

scottyb says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Weirdly addictive. Cool.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:26am

Great innovation! Looks like a lot of work was put into it, good job!

villhest says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Nice!

JonathanG says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Very carefully thought out, I'm impressed by the way you gradually escalate the difficulty of the puzzles to teach the player new things without ever writing them out specifically. Felt like it ended just as it was starting to get tricky though - would have enjoyed some harder levels too! Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]