Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Guy Who Lost His Arms

by Quetzakol - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here is my participation to the contest !

You play a guy that live in two superimposed dimensions, and can switch from one to the other. He must use this capacity to finally find the arms that he lost. Basically, it's a platformer, but with the special capacity of switching between worlds.

Language : C++ + SFML 2.0
Sounds : Bfxr, Audacity
Music : www.fakemusicgenerator.com
Graphics : Photofiltre + Photoshop

I'll try to include a Linux version if I manage to compile SFML correctly on Ubuntu.

If you can't change the world while jumping, please let me know. It's a bug that one computer had but I don't understand it...

Edit 25/08 : I changed one block in level 4 that could make the level impossible + fixed a bug with checkpoint (see comments below)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#238Humor2.91
#642Mood2.88
#669Theme3.11
#689Fun2.89
#706Audio2.41
#751Overall3.00
#766Graphics2.78
#926Innovation2.64

Comments

Peping says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:39am

I love this game. Unfortunately it has a bug wherein when you switch dimensions on a checkpoint and die, you will respawn in the wrong dimension. I was unable to finish it.

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:46am

Thank you for playing my game :) ! I never noticed this bug, I'll try to fix it as soon as possible.

Nanofus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:47am

A really fun game :D If I could change a single thing I would make the character die sooner after falling into a pit, I kept doing that a lot.

monsterkillu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Excellent game based on the theme .. But i hope to see more clever puzzle mechanics that could be done with the concept :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Pretty cool! Little rough around the edges, but there is some pretty fun platforming here.

Our games have somewhat similar idea, haha.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Really nice game. The graphics and the background music were awesome. Potato Salad :D

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Thanks :) I have no merit for the music, I only used a random music generator, but it's incredible how well it works !

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Nice game! Isn't the range of the fire a bit too big though?

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Not bad at all, it has almost no sense the story but...whatever hehe.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:54am

Silly, fun game. I liked it!

Raphy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:07am

Cool game and concept, nice work!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Nice platforming, original story line, fun game! Good luck!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Nice concept, not bad realization.

cudabear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Not a bad platformer! You incorporated a nice variety of obstacles so that it wouldn't get boring. The controls were nice and solid, and the graphics were well made. Nice job!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:11am

Funny little game. I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/1LqxxVg5Vuk

Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:41am

I like the faded other world, fun little platformer you have here.

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Nice mechanic of switching between worlds to get past obstacles. Not sure I like playing armless. :/

frogcheese says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:16am

Pretty cool little platform game! The audio levels were a bit unbalanced, the music being far too quiet compared to the sound effects. But the game was fun and about the right length.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]