Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

OtherWorld

by shashwat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Code at https://github.com/Shashwat986/LD30-Connected-Worlds

Note: I used publicly available sprites by accident. Please don't rate me on Graphics on the basis of them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#323Theme3.56
#513Innovation3.22
#812Humor1.95
#987Audio1.47
#1002Overall2.72
#1039Fun2.43
#1041Mood2.25
#1046Graphics2.27

Comments

cmayhem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:37am

Starts a bit slow but really nice puzzler with some lateral thinking needed.

shashwat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:42am

I couldn't add more than 4 levels, because of the time constraint. Thanks for the feedback :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:45am

Hi. Got stuck at end of level 2 - didn't complete when I got to the end of it. Chrome on W8.

shashwat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:47am

Did you get all three characters to the end? Check the Hell and Heaven tabs at the top.

Snuux says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:47am

I like logic game. Your game is awesome! Thanks!

maike says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:45am

I like it, but I think you should change the heart/stop icons, at least it didn't occur to me that 'heart=heaven power' and 'stop=hell power' until after I read the dialogues.

Norfinel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:48am

Too short )= !

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:54am

Nice idea! An innovative puzzle mechanic that I've not seen before, which also happens to fit nicely with the theme. Didn't take long to figure out what I needed to do. The only problem with gameplay was that I expected from proconcieved notions that I needed the "heaven" character to succeed, rather than both. I was enjoying it - wish there were more levels.

Interesting use of Bootstrap for navigation and level changes.

skullum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:46pm

A very cool and interesting game, I don't think you are allowed to use sprites from other websites though

ehtd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Also stuck at level 2

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:09am

Clever idea, but I don't think we are allowed to use premade sprites for the 48-hour compo. It's fine for the jam though!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:45am

Interesting puzzler - I like how the actions of the three versions fit together. Nicely done. :)

miwuc says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Interesting concept! I liked the intro and the gameplay. I wish there were more levels.

However, as other people have said, you cannot enter this in the compo if you haven't made the sprites. It's not fair to people who comply with the rules. You can enter it in the jam though.

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:35am

I like the idea of this game - balancing between worlds. Just, if you have no power after you do everything, you can't go back.

xrm0 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:33am

Intersting idea. But you cannot use graphics in the compo unless you've made it.

bobombe says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:13am

I was surprised that it was a puzzle game ^^
Very good concept!

Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Interesting idea, but sometimes I fail automatically right after getting a power up, not sure what's causing that.

shashwat says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:15pm

That's because taking the power-up will push one of your heavenly/helly selves to a value greater than 100. Given time, I'd make the defeat messages more explicit.

Teesquared says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:18am

Interesting take on the theme. Deep story but not a lot of gameplay depth. Choose wisely.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:21pm

This is a good puzzle, even if at first I didn't understand what happened. The three lines were confusing, and I didn't get that I had to arrive to the ok sign on the botton left to finish the stage.
The game mechanic was nice, trying to balance power of the three yous to fight the aliens.
To make even more difficult levels, you could put enemies in the three worlds and actions good, bad and neutral in both 3 worlds.
So in the end a fun game, with an strong connection with theme, with many possibilities to further develop...good work

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Nice puzzle challenge! It is interesting to see how one's actions in one world affect the others and how you really have to plan all your actions in advance. It would be great to be able to play more levels. Well done!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:19pm

A bit confusing to play

Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Really unusual game. Good puzzles. I enjoyed it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]