Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shifting

by ghenoroc - Jam Entry

You play a pixel scientist , trying to fix the world after a catastrophic event.

- Main feature; phasing between worlds
- Must find all collectable items to fix the world
- Moving with arrow up, down, left & right, and WASD
- Q to display inventory.

Made by ghenoroc, laratheonigiri & russell689

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#83Theme(Jam)3.80
#261Innovation(Jam)3.24
#423Mood(Jam)3.00
#582Graphics(Jam)2.88
#651Fun(Jam)2.50
#696Overall(Jam)2.68
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Wish it could've been developed a bit more! Pretty interesting and I like the art.

tcarter says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:47am

I really liked the simple controls and that shifting between worlds only required stepping on a tile. The preview of which world each tile connected with was good from a communication perspective. Unfortunately, I couldn't find any of the items. I thought that maybe the yellow circles were pointing me toward them, but I guess not. Remember that bigger isn't necessarily better, especially where maps are concerned. Keep up the good work!

dancingmad says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:05pm

The concept is nice, and the world switching mechanism is original. I was a little lost since there is no minimap or indication on how to find the collectibles, but i still managed to find a few ones. Nice game!

Tosic says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:38pm

It is very innovative, but kinda confusing.

MRvanderPants says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Interesting concept, the game itself was a little trippy sometimes

runvs says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:31pm

I like the concept but it was a bit confusing.

kristof says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:35pm

I couldn't find a single collectable :( The world is huge!
I like the idea of having to find your way through different "realities". A bit more help for the player and some explanations on some graphics (do the colored circles have a purpose?) would have been cool.

kyru says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Interesting start to a game, the world transition areas look very neat. Could use a bit more.

jprogman says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 1:38am

There were a few occasions where I've gotten stuck from entering a cluster of portals. The portals were interesting and how they shift from one world to another.

Tanser says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:13am

Very original idea! Good job!!

Sep 11, 2014 @ 10:54am

Liked the graphics; but had no idea how to play/what to do. A tutorial/briefing would be nice.

Sep 11, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Nicely done! Took me some time to find those items. I also really like the shifting mechanics, though it is currently easy to get stuck on some tiles. Keep up the good work!

Sep 11, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Nice I liked how the portal between worlds looked like it was a combination of all the worlds mashed together.

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Didn't really know what I was doing so I just spent some time learning about the world. Hunched blue guys kill you, pulsating ground tiles with different color palettes take you to different maps when stepped on, and that the worlds have ends.

I wish there was more to do but it was still fun to go exploring.

rjhelms says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Cool idea! I'd also love to see this one developed a bit more.

Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Pretty crazy. I don't think I found any collectibles, I'm not sure what was going on ...but it was kind of fun to walk around in the trippy worlds anyway.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]