Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Interplanetary Postal Service

by Pirate Hearts - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Windows only. DirectX 9.0c (or more recent) required.

This is a short (~2 minute) game about delivering mail to planetoids.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#55Theme4.00
#153Overall3.67
#172Fun3.56
#188Graphics3.76
#190Audio3.38
#369Innovation3.41
#1767Coolness32%

Comments

BlueSama says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:34am

nice

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Smart little game. Very competent and focused! I liked the old graphics and the sound-cues were good. the customer grunts told me something was wrong when I delivered them postage late. How does it calculate time passed to get customer satisfaction? From the time the letter is produced or after it is sorted? I'm inclined to think the former. 39/40 packages delivered, 17/28 satisfied customers. How bad am I? :P

laremere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Very fun! The sounds are enjoyable and the experience is very tactile. Some ways into it I feel like I start getting a bunch of letters which should match a symbol but I get the unsatisfied sound out. I'm not sure if that's a bug or if the symbols are subtly wrong and I can't tell.

SenorDiablo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Amazing!! I love this game so much! very hard with a trackpad but brilliant simple design that is wonderfully backed up with funny sound effects 8/8 m8

slowfrog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Very funny, especially the "human-made" sound effects!
The graphics are nice too.
The game is short, simple to understand. Maybe some visual indication that some envelopes have been waiting for some time already would help prioritize them.
Good experience overall.

naksrifati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Funny sound, liked it) The game overall all is good, but it shud be more)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:02pm

This is a great little game. Very creative, humorous and fun. Very well built up as well, starting slow so that you get a chance to understand how to play the game and start to recognize the shapes that are yours, and then builds up in intensity. Great curve, super nice game!

TautNerve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:04pm

A simple mechanic that is executed very well, nice use
of the theme as well. Had fun with this one!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:06pm

I had to play it through again - love the stats at the end. 90/93, 56/57, 10.92s. Contender for world record?

kyyrma says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Super simple, but very neat and polished. After having heard nothing but sfxr sound effects so far, your sound effects really cracked me up. Bonus points for that, a really nice touch!

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:39pm

fun game, it's like working!
reminds me of papers, please.

varun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:54am

Reasonable game - not too ambitious, and does what it does perfectly. Would love to see this on mobile - I think the swiping might feel better on a touch-screen than a mouse.

abeing says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:20pm

nice game. liked it. but nothing happens when the time runs out

2HitMatt says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Pretty fun little game. Loved the graphics, gets pretty stressful!

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Nice game. Maybe add a counter for how many mail is delivered successfully, how many mail is lost?

jomomomo says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Can't play windows games.... can I get a web ver?

Moosefly says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:49am

Simple and fun. Does what it wants well and doesn't try to be anything grandiose! Loved the sound effects!

Joona@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]