Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Digbot Dash

by Christian Scandariato - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My very first Ludum Dare game, Digbot Dash!

Controls: Arrow Keys to Move
Any Arrow Key + Space Bar to dig in the selected direction.

Please play, comment, vote, and most of all enjoy!

All assets created by Christian Scandariato for the purposes of this gamejam.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#156Fun3.59
#204Humor3.00
#418Overall3.34
#568Mood2.97
#683Graphics2.91
#706Audio2.41
#999Innovation2.49
#1184Theme1.64

Comments

Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Great submission Christian. That lava scared the crap out of me! lol

EMAK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:37am

Nice game, very fun!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55pm

I think I've seen this type of game before ...

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Is this game one button killing? And how it using the theme?

NikSG says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58pm

my digbot dug and dashed. fun stuff

dusho says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58pm

that lava came as real surprise.. it cost me 2 lives to realize what is going on.. turned into real keyboard smasher.. fun

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58pm

I blew up!

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Pretty hectic after the first few levels, but I had fun playing :)

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Nice to play this. Wasn't easy once that giant turkish rug thing came for me :)

TowelKing says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Digbot and his full range of robot emotions really brought this game to life

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:03pm

This was really awesome! I liked the concept and the lava was properly terrifying lol. Excellent work!

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:13pm

I do like a bit of Mania in my games and this certainly provided it.
However I may have to charge you for keyboard replacement :P
Great game and lots of fun (and lava)

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Very fun! The end of the first level had me enraged!!! Good work :D

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:00am

Fun, frantic gameplay, but pretty difficult. The lava also starts really quickly and if you aren't expecting it you are basically screwed on your first playthrough.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:05am

Super-fun game! As soon as I saw the lava I just started furiously tapping the spacebar hoping to outrun it. Took a couple of tries, but I made it!

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:06am

Very good game, really frantic. It's a tad annoying that you have to start all over again once all lives are gone. The fifth stage did me in (the one with the bombs).

Completely non themed though :)

buckslice says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:09am

Quite fun and had me playing a while. Trying to dig up though is pretty difficult, and couldn't get past level 4 or so because of this. Also don't really see how this is related to the theme at all but whatever lol. Nice game

Skywilly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:16am

Great game, really fun ;)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:25am

Thanks for the feedback, everyone!

I tried to connect the theme within the story/title cards in that Digbot was moving through an old connected tunnel of two worlds, but I can absolutely see how that doesn't come through enough for true thematics. Definitely something I'll keep in mind for my second LD!

DDFranky says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:03am

Nice game! I had to stop playing because otherwise my spacebar will sue me. Is it me or there is no audio on this game?

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:05am

Cool game :) I destroyed my space button, but it was fun, though a bit too difficult. I would have finished the game if I had unlimited lives.

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:53am

Nice game ! I like it and that lava puts the game even more interesting.

Axebane says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Nice game! The lava stage was pretty intense!

hogtrick says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Pretty nice game. Lava is scare though. >_<

Amvere says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:16am

Best game I have played yet! Very nice job. This is legitimately fun to play!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:20am

I dig it, those levels hard as rock, but Digibot should have paper drills to dig faster xD

now seriousley, great game, the visuals are simple but effective and the levels are really well designed and the parts with text really add deepness to the game.

Stan Sypek says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Seems to be a dropbox error so I can't play now. Bookmarking for later because I want to try this one.

Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Dropbox link (Web) should be working now. Added a Game Jolt link as well just in case!

Stan Sypek says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:45am

Dat Lava! Had me racing like a madman. Glad I came back to this one, this was a lot of fun.

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:38pm

At first it doesn't seem like much, but the buttom smashing, retro looks and fast decision taking made this thing really fun to play, congrats!

The story didn't make much sense to me (seems like a few words were missing?), but he's a Digbot so whatever he says as long as he digs ;) Good level design too.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]