Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

String Pong

by Shmackson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CONTROLS
Human Side: WASD to control. Q to release ball.
Alien Side: Arrows to control. Space to release ball.


How To Play
-Only had time to implement the multi-player mode..
-If the ball stays on your side for 10 seconds it will blow up. When it is thrown to the other side it will restart the timer.
-Touch the catcher on the end of your string to the the ball and it will pick it up.
-Swing, jam or otherwise throw the void ball through the portal to the other side of the portal so it doesn't kill you.

The game is meant to have a high skill cap, don't give up!


STORY-ish
A void opened up on the White House lawn, connecting our world to another. Then a void ball spawned and threatened to turn into a black hole and destroy our planet. So America and the aliens both found their finest civilian to attempt to save their world by throwing the void ball into through the void into the other world.



*Something has gone wrong with the HTML version and has made player lose grip on the ball very quickly, if you have the option I'd recommend downloading the Windows version for a bit better experience.



Downloads and Links


Ratings

#480Humor2.44
#520Innovation3.20
#568Audio2.70
#704Graphics2.88
#853Theme2.77
#1023Overall2.68
#1030Mood2.29
#1110Fun2.20
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:01am

Plus points for music/sound.
Graphics are decent. Would have been cool if the ball inverted to white when in the right half of the screen.
Concept isn't too bad, but the mechanics aren't doing it for me. It feels awkward in a bad way, instead of silly and fun like physics games should.

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:08am

I couldn't connect to your website to download/play the game. It might be under some stress right now.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:10am

I like your backstory for the game! It's pretty challenging to grab the ball, and then when you do it sometimes flies off by itself. The most I could do was throw it back and fourth three times before dying.

Shmackson says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19am

Yeah sorry about those play mechanics guys(grabbing the ball, string physics), they worked much better on the windows version. Currently trying to figure out what went wrong with them on the HTML port.

Jaloko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:27am

Cool concept, I found it hard to play but that was probably just me haha.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:35am

Great mechanics!

kidando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:03am

Congrats on finishing your game. It was kind hard to maneuver

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Stuck throwing a void ball through a portal until you die, it's exactly like my day job! D:

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Hey, I liked the look and feel but found it very difficult. The swinging balls are great. Good job!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Nice game, but I could not play so well since I was playing alone, but think that it would work great with two persons.

howkj1 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:14pm

It took me awhile to figure out that I needed to click "versus" before moving to the keyboard. All documentation said use wasd and keys. Otherwise, interesting take on a few classics. The rocket guy reminds me of Nes from Earthbound and his yoyo.

shashwat says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Interesting game. Hard to play both sides, though. Although, I understand that that's not how it should be played.

igoramendola says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:43am

Cool idea and nice graphics! The human looks funny hehehe
A polished post compo version could be interesting ^_^

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]