Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Maze Of Worlds

by rd127p77 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare. This game is programmed in Game-Maker Studio 1.3.1, and learned it a couple hours before the competition.

By The Way I'm A Programmer Not An Artist.

Directions

UP Arrow - Jump
RIGHT Arrow - Move Right
LEFT Arrow - Move Left
Right Control - Restart Level
-----------------------------------------------------
The Maze Of Worlds:

- Avoid the spikes and use coins to unlock gates to get to the next world.

Another Game, More Levels:

- Avoid the spikes and survive


----------------------------------------------------------

Suggest starting at level at One, There is no level lock.




Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#807Humor1.96
#904Fun2.63
#957Audio1.65
#1053Overall2.61
#1079Mood2.12
#1115Theme2.15
#1129Innovation2.15
#1135Graphics2.05

Comments

Kinta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:02am

Would be cooler if the game would not need an installation (which can easily done with Game Maker).

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:52pm

I tried to compile into a single .exe file but when I ran it Norton Anit-virus removed it from my computer. All my computers have Norton. You can easily delete it using its uninstaller in the folder.

DarkCart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Ah, programmer art. I like it.

Lvyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Programmers will prevail ! :)

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Well I tried the game. It is an interesting game. I liked how different characters used different gravity (or at least jump height) it was really cool in that regard.

However the collision detection in the game was really awkward I died multiple times because of weird things with collision. Specially when there are many areas in the game that are really so small that it barely fits the character.

All in all it looked like a very interesting cool game and it did actually feel fun. Congratulations on both first game with Game Maker and first LD release :D

sorle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:32pm

reminds me of my last ld entry ;D
classic sidescrolling action.
i like the level design.

jmf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Nice fun little game. I like the character art. Next time I'd recommend focusing on doing less levels and polishing them more. Hope you do Ludum Dare again!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Good effort for a first game.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:48am

I click web and it gives me a download option?

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:13am

Not terrible for a first game. I would focus a lot on collision detection though. Jumping while touching a wall and simultaneously moving freezes you mid-air, and left-hand collision is extremely buggy. When it comes to left hand collision, based one the way the spikes are set up, it looks like each block consists of two parts, and I assume you just accidentally set it to spawn you on the right side of the block instead of the left side when you collide with the right side of another block.

All in all for a first game it wasn't bad though, and it did keep me entertained.

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:18am

**Adding on to my previous comment:

Also don't forget that they allow you to fix minor bugs such as the collision thing if I was correct about it simply being a typo or something.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:00am

Welcome in Ludum Dare, good first entry.

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:24pm

The Collision isn't a bug but I used the collision event not code. Only had 3 hours before the competition to learn a-lot of stuff about game maker. I didn't focus much time on collision detection.

gwa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:03pm

nice little jump and run.

cudabear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:47am

This isn't bad for your first game! The collision detection was pretty dodgy and the controls could have been better, but you chose a mechanic and it turned out pretty well. I liked your interpretation of the theme, too!

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:53am

Nice little platformer. The collisions with the other tiles are a bit funky.

SelfishGenome says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:12am

Nice use of the theme, fun idea too.

Wertle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Congrats on your first LD! A couple of small things that could help polish this up: I'd recommend really pushing the color of the spikes to be completely different than the walls, I see you had them all share a thematic color, but it made the spikes difficult to parse and you really want those sticking out like a sore thumb so I understand they are hazards. The other thing you might want to play around with is the camera. I'd recommend trying a lead-cam instead of a follow-cam since you are often jumping into situations of danger so it's more helpful to see more of the screen in the direction you are traveling than the one you came from. Good job!

TD5 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:34pm

I have the same issue as Miziziziz, the web link offers me a .exe instead of a web game. I have OSX so I can't play :(

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:48pm

sorry i will remove the web.

Endurion says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:31am

A nice little game. Without installer would be preferred, even if it comes with an uninstaller.

Collision is a tad buggy.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Some indication of what the button / coin thing did would be really helpful. Sound would also make this game better. I am proud that you got animations working, for a non-artist.

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:23am

Really fun looking forward to some more polish

jprogman says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:51am

Bacon teleporter. That's good :) Nice work with your first LD entry.

Rehacked says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:28pm

good job with your first ludum dare entry. here are some things that i thought i have to tell you.
1-why characters have a bad conflict with walls?
2-when a player triggers something you have to tell him that he something has changed you can do it by many ways.

Nick Weihs says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:20am

Very nice level design and exploration of the mechanics with very little wasted. I enjoy it when people focus on level design first.

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:00am

Game maker can do single runtime executables instead of installers which should always be used for jams, your collisions are too big and the wall collision is very strange.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]