Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Yggdrasil

by stevens_studio - Jam Entry

In Norse mythology, Yggdrasil is an immense tree that is central in Norse cosmology, in connection to which the nine worlds exist. (wikipedia)

Jarl is a Viking, he has to find his deceased brother in other worlds, first in Helheim, the equivalent of hell, but after that he will have to go to explore the 8 other worlds of Yggdrasil.

Our team :

Paul Rudy (programming)

Emilie Jouet (graphic design)

Jacques Milou (sound)


Controls : arrows <- -> to move and shift to jump
We recommend to use Firefox or Chrome, music doesn't play in Safari or IE as they don't support OGG format.

We are really sorry for the lack of gameplay, in another version fighting will be possible, for the moment you can follow the story by wandering and admiring the landscape

And pardon our english :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#190Graphics(Jam)3.87
#315Audio(Jam)3.21
#319Mood(Jam)3.21
#528Theme(Jam)2.80
#552Humor(Jam)1.92
#710Overall(Jam)2.61
#752Innovation(Jam)1.91
#762Fun(Jam)1.75

Comments

SojaBird says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:18pm

When I'm at a piece of water I fall of the first rock and get stuck :(

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Can't you use the Shift button to jump ?
I experienced some case were your character could get stuck against some platforms, but I thought this was removed in this "final" version. Tell me.

Yoni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Nice graphics and music, wish there was more actual gameplay...

Horridgames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Well... Gameplay seems to be a bit lacking. Pretty much a long cutscene. But I liked the mood of the game and the minimalistic artwork with parallaxing. ;)

-GV

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Thanks for the comments.

Actually, we didn't figure a proper gameplay that would fit this game, and could be done in 72h. We prefered (rather we revised downwards our ambitions for this jam) to concentrate on the athmosphere, graphics and story, rather than make a simple (and probably buggy :p ) gameplay that might ruin the rest.

For the future, I want to redo all of this with a new engine that could give me more freedom. Emilie might try Spine to do more fluid animations.

Take this as some kind of teaser :)

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Well... the graphics are good.
But unfortunately there is no gameplay.
Also regarding controls: I think that putting the Jump key on [SHIFT] isn't the best idea since Windows will trigger 'Sticky Keys' if [SHIFT] is pressed repeatedly.

chipcaramel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Strong Graphics and Audio. I really liked it, though I would love to see more! Good work.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Controls seem to lag horribly for me. Playing it in firefox. Is there supposed to be no animations, or it's a bug? Well written into though and pretty graphics as far as I can get.

Polona says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:31pm

The concept of Norse Mythology fits the theme "connected Worlds" really well. I really like the story's settings and the art style. It is a nice Story so far. (by Alvar)

LuisDC says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:32pm

I like the visuals and sounds, but yes, it needs some combats or something else.

BTW, I got a black screen for a minute or so before entering the cave.

Joseph Roque says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:32pm

I really enjoyed the atmosphere of the game, the music fit well and although it wasn't much more than just a long walk, it put me in a good mood. It'd be cool to see this get finished up a bit more.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:43pm

@LuisDC : There should be an animation showing Yggdrasil (the tree) before entering the cave. It lasts for 30sec or so. Could you see it or did the black screen occur later ?

@kibertoad : So far, Firefox had the best results for me (didn't try Chrome though). But the game might need a quite powerful computer to run properly. It laged a lot on a celeron powered laptop (7 year old).

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:46pm

BTW: there won't be any audio if you use Safari or IE as they don't support the OGG format which was used in the game.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:17pm

I love this game

villhest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:22pm

I love the art style and music! Nice job!

Takashy87 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Like the art style and focus on story.. just wondering why you went with "shift" as jump.. really odd choice considering what it does on Windows platforms >_>

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:03pm

That was the default input in the software I used (i.e. Game Develop) which I found also weird.
I will change this and allow using "space" as well when I have access to the FTP. I think it's considered as a minor fix by LD rules.

rejooh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Loved the two moons :D

Maxium says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:24am

I really like the art and music, combat would have been nice too see though :(

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:23am

As others have noted, not so gamey, but good art!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:24am

Extremely beautiful, obviously a great story since you're basing it off Norse mythology, but I have to admit I got bored part of the way through. Exploration games are fun to an extent. I feel this game would extremely benefit from more clickable objects you can interact with, or some smaller side stories. I hope you continue to work on this. I want to see the rest. =)

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:21am

the graphics and audio are nice, and the story is cool.
That's about it; I got bored after 3 minutes of holding the right arrow and quit. Either need to speed up walk speed, or lessen distance between interesting areas.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:34am

Really pretty graphics. I have to admit I kept the "shift" key held down the whole time, just to keep myself entertained :P

mactinite says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:42am

Nice scenery and characters were interesting. The animations could use a little work and maybe some more in the way of gameplay, but an interesting story nonetheless and a scenic setting.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Nice game, just the intro is too long, maybe you could add a skip button.

TautNerve says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:34pm

I liked the backgrounds and environment design, would
love to see some more interaction available with the world.

Halfbus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Really atmospheric.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Love the art style. The blurry trees in the foreground give a great sense of depth.

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:13pm

nothing wrong with an adventure game without combat
would pay money for a full version of this game as the art and theme are lovely

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Using Yggdrasil was an inspired touch! I liked the writing, too. The end cutscenes went on a little bit too long--moving limited player control all the way down to zero player control kind of stung--but it was nicely played out. I almost would have preferred the nihilistic ending in which the gods win, but I imagine that would not make the most satisfying game... ah well.

I also thought that you might be able to characterize the player avatar a bit better by upgrading the jump and movement animations in the post-compo version, as they're a bit stiff and don't seem too Norse Warriorish.

Anyway, the parallax scrolling worked really well. I've done some studying of Norse mythology myself and liked how much effort you put into making things accurate. Gorgeous scenery!

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Nice to see another viking themed entry ;)

Shift = sticky keys problem here too.

Like others said, there wasn't much gameplay... but the art and story seemed cool. Ambitious entry.

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Beautiful graphics and audio. Narrative was lovely!

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:08am

Graphics were amazing.

Might change the pacing a bit though.

disease says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:20am

Great graphics obviously, I'm just not sure this is a game.

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:48am

Fantastic work on the art. But maybe it can benefit from more action. A little too contemplative? The story is interesting and I specially loved the little details on background ImI rock on!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Nice graphics and very well fx sounds and music. But the gameplay is a bit boring, try improving it and nice art!!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:36am

Liked the art and the way you used layers but as mentioned a bit more gameplay would really help.

pikkpoiss says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:26am

I loved the atmosphere created by the opening monologue, artwork, and music. It's a shame that you were not able to take your idea all the way to where you wanted it in the time limit of Ludum Dare, but I'm looking forward to what you do next time.

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:50am

A pretty start to something grand.

yodamaster says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Hm, veah, looks very nice, but it's not a game actually. Nothing to do except walking forward.

EndingChaos says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Like others said, fantastic atmosphere and sound, no gameplay.

H1S2 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:08pm

cool graphics and music. unfortunately i was a little bored by the gameplay. if you add some more pace it could become a great game.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:49am

Nice art and mood, just need to add some game mechanics and it could be great.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 10:26pm

A nice story experience - I think that's fine. Every game doesn't need action. I liked the music and art! I think a some of the art could use some polish, and the font was missing characters, but I did enjoy it. Great job!

Frankus says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Pretty linear, like a story. The jumping helps to advance at some points but it's not challenging. Some parts are long. But overall, really nice graphics and mood :).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]