Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Out Of Place

by HisShoes - Jam Entry

Pixely platforming game. Choose your path through the rooms to find the final door.

Use space to switch between worlds to find hidden doors and routes.

W,A,D to move
E to go through doors

There may be a couple of small bugs/design flaws
Uploaded to dropbox in a .rar and .zip
Windows download links to dropbox, Source goes to the github folder that holds the rar and zip
Apparently Dropbox has a download limit so just use source if it stops working

Thanks to /u/bFusion for in game music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#103Theme(Jam)3.75
#184Audio(Jam)3.47
#268Overall(Jam)3.39
#295Fun(Jam)3.19
#350Graphics(Jam)3.47
#393Innovation(Jam)3.00
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Pretty fun game with colorful environments.

I had some issues with the controls and platform edges (and jumping out of water), but nothing too bad.

All in all I liked the game :)

leondryaso says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Physics are kinda strange, but it is nice entry in overall

Jaloko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:01am

Had some issues with platform edges also. The music was nice!

crezefire says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:09am

Really enjoyed it!! It was a fun experience.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:47am

this is pretty good! I like the artstyle :D

HisShoes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Yeah, in a few hours I'll update the game, should fix the collision bugs. You aren't supposed to be able to jump out of water :p. Thanks for the feedback though guys! Glad you liked it!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:46am

Lava is, in fact, bad. Fun game!

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Phew, I had a tough time beating this one -- I didn't realize that I pretty much always go right and so I kept doing heroic stuff to try to get into the more difficult doors, like the top-left one in the 'tree' level when entering from the right. The platforming in this game is hard because the player moves so fast! But maybe that was the point. Also, I wish it had the option to use arrow keys, for us old people. High points for me are the graphics and the music, especially the switching between worlds music.

varun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:04am

Really liked the visuals and music in this game. However, found the platforming controls to be a bit off.

hate-marina says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Hey, it's my idea :D

eott says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:41pm

A great game! The colors, the graphic style and the audio are all solid. My only gripe are the controls. I can't count how many times I switched worlds when I actually wanted to jump. Also the "running start" to jumping wasn't always consistently working like expected.

PeerPlay says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:20am

Superfun game. Pretty hard at times, and I didn't like the button E for enter. I do think the puzzles are very nicely thought out. I enjoyed playing it

Acuity says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:48am

Great music, and interesting concept. Jumping next to a wall was a little bit frustrating, since it stops all of my momentum sometimes. It also was hard to tell what blocks I could stand on and what I couldn't, but I guess that's part of the artistic value of the game.

mystakin says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:54am

Really dig the visual style, though it was difficult to discern what was ground and what wasn't at times. Great work.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]