Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Crossworld Club

by Artamus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

[CONTROLS]
> Arrow keys: move
> Spacebar: interact

[HELP]
> In case of emergency, here is the walkthrough: http://artamus.fr/crossworld/Crossworld%20Club%20-%20Wakthrough.txt
> If you do not hear any sound, try to close and re-open you web browser.
> If the game does not launch, it is maybe because your web browser does not support HTML5. You could run it with Google Chrome for example.

[ABOUT]
It's my first Ludum Dare!

When I saw the subject, I decided I wanted to explore two "original" aspects of the theme : crossover fiction (<=> connected fictional worlds) and social links.

The game is also a tribute to a specific gameplay in "The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening". I'll be curious to know if some of you noticed it. In fact, any feedback is appreciated!

I used Construct2, Paint.NET and Audacity.

Made by: Francois Renou
Website: http://artamus.fr/category/games/
Twitter: @f_renou

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#9Humor4.23
#148Fun3.60
#163Mood3.51
#175Overall3.63
#203Graphics3.72
#233Audio3.29
#397Theme3.45
#704Innovation2.97

Comments

rex64 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:06am

Pretty cool game! Dialogs are pretty fun!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:07am

Climatic ending :)

Viza says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:18am

Cool!

rejooh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:19am

Innovative and fun gameplay, loved every line of dialog and that ending :)

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:21am

Hah, that was awesome. A cool experience. I also liked your humour.

rnlf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26am

Oh LOL. The ending is SO f'ing great. Laughed really hard.

Also, really sweet pixel art and music. Only thing I'd change is to use some pixely font for the dialogs that matches the rest of the visuals better, but besides that, a really sweet game.

shasharala says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:44am

That was certainly amusing.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:57am

Short but incredibly sweet! :D

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:12am

I went to a bar with Harry Potter, Link, Hannibal, Batman, Robin, a bouncer named Jay, Lara Croft who appears to be on a date with Charlie Chaplin, the couple from Pride and Prejudice, and Harry Potter... and I made a name for myself for a mysterious boss.

11/10 would play again

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:25am

Ohh good!
this is so fudging good looking.
And fun too.
Like Leisure suit Larry for 2014!

Expand this and keep working with games...

Aaants says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:27am

Hah, that was awesome. Loved all the references :)

Sequenceko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:28am

Very funny game. holy shit that ending!

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:28am

Hahaha, I really had fun playin this one! NACHO TRIFORCE! Awesome!

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:28am

What a ending! Really funny game! :D

Agecaf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:35am

Nice and funny. Didn't get the ending at first, but when I did, it was hilarious : )

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:22am

Nice use of the theme and liked the ending surprise.

DhantonGames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:32am

Cool game. I loved the batman dialog :D

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Very nice, bien joué !

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Just perfect, short but surprising and funny. If only good old Lucas Art was still there, and not owned my a mouse ...

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Very stylish and atmospheric, I liked it a lot! The only downside, if it can be called that, is the simple gameplay. But it serves the game well so it's not really a downside :P Ending was great!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Nice game using famous caracthers, but did not get the theme on the game :(

Liz England says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Loved this little game! This is the first time I've seen this interpretation of the theme (fandom crossovers).

KevRevDev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:02am

Interesting take on the theme. Really nice graphics and good sound. Pretty funny dialog as well. I had a good bit of fun with it!

enderargent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Hahaha, nice ending! ^^ Nacho triforce!

coldman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Very funny. A nice mini-game !

psychonull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:34pm

hahaha so good! .. and the ending is awesome (batman and robin OMG! haha)

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Haha, so much excellent humor in this one. Well written!

markusfisch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Did it! That was fun! Nachos, champagne and some very fine guests. I like that Crossworld Club!

That blinking disco floor reminded me of some Larry adventure. Good choice!

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:57pm

That was quite amusing. I liked your take on the theme; it was a very original idea. The writing was pretty funny, and it was cool to see such an assortment of famous characters in one game.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:18pm

nice take on the theme

LaFleur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:19pm

That finale. Perfect. Great job!

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Great ending!

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Very nice little game with a lot of humor and funny dialogs!
Well done!

DDFranky says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:20pm

I knew it that batman is secretly in love with robin! Also, great and funny game! XD

maloki says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Fun entertaining game. :D

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:36pm

BRILLIANT! LOVE IT LOL! Narrative is great. Really funny!

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:27pm

This was great, hilarious dialogue! I like how you used the theme and you managed to set the mood really well. Nice entry!:)

Bubblman says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Really liked it! Good job!

gillenew says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Very nice piece, link was less crazy than normal

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:13am

Simple but entertaining! I love your sense of humor :) That ending... mmm...

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Hi there... First of all I laughed out loud at the final 'after ending' scene. Good job all around! Great to see Construct2 being used!

fil00dl says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:02pm

nice casting, very funny

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Very funny game! I especially loved Link and the ending. The at is very good too. Great job.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:49pm

I loved the combination of jokes. Good plot, it has made me short.A great way to attach worlds. 5 for theme and humor

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:26am

Love it. :) As a huge Batman fan... That was funny. :D
Simple yet fun game. Great ending. Good job :)

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Like the humour, and it's definitely a unique take on the theme too! And the ending was pretty funny!

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Too bad it's that short. But really funny indeed

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Very funny!!! it was sensaNACHOnal! :D

Pierrec says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:00pm

The game is really nice! I wish it were more difficult though because talking to everyone once or twice is enough to get the prize.

Aside from that, both graphics and audio are good. And I like the theme interpretation a lot (maybe because it isn't that far from mine ^^ )

pansapiens says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:32am

Lot's of LOLs here - great work !

lkr says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:32am

Love the pixel art and humor in the game :)
Short but sweet!

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:16am

HA that was great, that ending! And it went on just long enough without being tedious.

grayhaze says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:34pm

I liked this a lot. Well put together and a funny mix of characters playing against type. That ending too! Well done. :)

breadstix says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Love everything about this. The Zelda item music made me actually LOL. Fantastic job!

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Yes! I love adventure games! Very funny, specially the end. The art and UI were pretty good!

kaa says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Very good quest. Thank you!

stasss says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Humor is the best)

Vidd says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:57am

Simple, sweet and an interesting take on the theme. Excellent.

dokidoki says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:01am

I love crossovers. :) Cool interpretation of the theme. :)

SketchyGalore says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:01am

The nacho thing definitely made me giggle ^_^

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:28am

this is some cool jazz, especially that interesting end

jpmit says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:41pm

great job, a lot of fun

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Great idea for the theme! Well executed and polished. I really enjoyed it

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Such a strange name for the game, but it worked really well. I was highly amused by all of the characters and the ending...!

Short but sweet.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Gave the humor 5 stars because it was hilarious, especially the ending. Good job!

nosfer says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Finished! Very funny, I like it :)

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Ahaha, I see what you did here. Nice cameos. Cool use of the theme.

thiaguera says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Very nice. A little too easy, but fun.

damrem says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Excellent, from the beginning to the end!

Linusson says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:56am

Pretty short and easy but really fun. Nice little adventure game. :)

ncannasse says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Was quite fun to play, although the gameplay could have been made a bit more complex :)

S0rax says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Graphism is cool, but the game is too short

jgthespy says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Short and sweet. Very charming game :)

ninjascript says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Not so interactive but hilarious! Great work!

louis.denizet says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:41am

Made it to the end, good job ;)

banana4life says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Really cool! Like it :)

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:56pm

I'll also add my "woot! old-school Leisure Suit Larry!" vote. Fantastic execution: very funny, but also no way I could stop before the end!

garygreen says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:57pm

That was a great entry - funny and a clever idea.

EMAK says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:54am

very funny entry, it make me laugh

chowee says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Not much to add except that this game is a great entry !! Except for the shortness of the experience I wouldn't guess that it is from a jam if I stumbled upon it by chance.

Really great work, the best compo entry I tried so far !

Tu as du talent, l'ami ! Continue ! ;)

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:50pm

this was awesome, loved the ending too, very omninous

HeyChinaski says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Nice work. Pretty funny. Sound and art were pretty solid too.

mystakin says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 1:21am

That ending! :O Silly premise, but a solid start to an adventure game. Well done.

Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:55am

Great game! Really fun and well executed. Good job!

Menesetsu says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Nicely done!

dadman says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Really nice sound design and artwork! Very cinematic look which I liked. I thought it was a jam entry when I was playing it!

Frankus says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Really liked the game, it's fun to see how each character helps to get to another character. Loved the Batman/Robin segment. Good game!

jprogman says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:19am

Characters from different worlds... connected by items... fits the theme to me. Nice work on the fetch quest.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Very funny mashup :D

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:21pm

The game art really reminds me of Earthbound for some reason! I really like the way you used the theme. It's definitely refreshing to play something new! I would love to play a longer version of this game that carries the idea through! Great work!

RawboSaurX says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Cool, man! I'm not usually a fan of putting well known characters together in weird scenarios, but this actually worked. It didn't overstay it's welcome either, which is good. 20 minutes of walking around that room would have been nauseating, but it was short and sweet. And that's what I like ;)

phaser says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:55am

Very fun game, Great sense of humor

ajopart says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:44am

Unexpected interpretation of the theme !! Well done !

AlexFili says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Really clever and overall a very funny game. You did a good job of mixing your franchises together, a very eclectic mix!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]