Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bi-Bob

by Donar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Control one character in two different worlds at the same time. Use one character to affect the world of the other one and vice versa.

It was tested on Windows with an XBox Controller and Keyboard. If you are on another OS, the Controller might not work properly.

Update 1: Sorry for the first puzzle with the five buttons and two doors, you might get stuck there - I forgot a button that opens the door on the way back. If you lock yourself out, just hit the restart button ... it was at the beginning of the game anyway.

Update 2: I added a Video link of a complete Playthrough, if you get stuck but still want to know how it continues.

Update 3: I also added a fixed Web-Version, in which I removed the deadlock situation. The original, buggy one is still there, since it's my entry and is not to be altered (I don't know if fixing this bug is against the rules).

---

The Code is nothing special and the Unity scene looks horrible. Do whatever you want with it. Just don't copy the whole game and put your own name under it ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#109Theme3.87
#306Mood3.29
#319Overall3.45
#354Humor2.67
#414Innovation3.35
#473Audio2.82
#524Fun3.08
#583Graphics3.06

Comments

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:15am

Very good job! I love the graphics and brillianty told story! More pls!!!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:06am

Very nice. But I think I didn't get very far. Got stuck after the timed button dual door thing.. and have to "experiment" with the pink block, but don't really know what to do.
From what I can tell though, a very decent game. Rather engaging story, and I quite like the "mystery" about it - hence would love to see how it ends, so feel free to tell me how I get past the pink block situation..? :D

The only minor issue I see is the top character's controls. I'd either use the relative approach - A to run to the character's relative left (hence right on screen), D for the opposite direction and W to jump. Or, as you did, the absolute approach with A running left on screen, but in that case use S to jump instead of W. This way it's just very confusing. Well, to me that is.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:46am

I also got stuck, mainly because I locked the other guy out as I activated them the wrong way! xD Nice game though.

KevRevDev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:51am

Really, really cool gameplay mechanic with the colors changing both worlds. I'd love to see more levels fleshing out the mechanic. It was also visually represented really well.

I think it was a little unnecessary to have the top Bob be upside down. It didn't add much and made the platforming more difficult.

Donar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:51am

@ShellfishGames: The purple block transfers a force from one world to the other. It's pretty much a jump pad that is activated by the char of the other world. I though people would figure that out, since they had to collect the pickup on the ceiling.

I experimented a bit with the controls and I had it inverted once. I didn't like it though, because on symmetric parts of the level, where you had to control both characters at the same time, it was way to easy to just push the same buttons for both characters. About the W vs. S to jump - I didn't put much thought in it, since I created it for the XBox Controller, on which jump is on the trigger.

SirJson says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:58am

Playing this with 2 players would be really fun I guess

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Very crazy graphics.

alycarter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:12pm

it was tricky getting the timing right pressing the buttons but i like the mood you set up with the changing colours.

burgerdare says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:33pm

the story was kind of cool, but I feel like this kind of game has been done plenty of times before. It was a little hard to get excited for it.

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:50pm

mess me up !

Headmade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:56pm

I hated this three button segment, you lost me there.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Yep, also locked myself out at the 3 button bit. Good up to that point though - nice work :)

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Great gameplay mechanic. Controlling both characters at the same reminded me of A Tale of Two Brothers. Well executed.

LPeter1997 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Very nice! Intresting story!

sai_aya says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:15pm

The story is well told, and the background music fits perfectly with it.
The platform portions got significantly easier when I switched my keyboard layout to QWERTY !

Very nice game, congrats !

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:13pm

That button glitch is a bit dodgy, I think that counts as a win condition bug if you still want to add the button.

This was one of the best application of the themes I've seen. I can see what you meant by our games being similar, but I had more Coop in mind with mine. You on the other hand made explored the mechanic in much more depth for a single player. The synchronized jumping part was fantastic.

I really felt the story embodies the theme better than any other game I've played.

Excellent Job!

Elde says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:26am

Interesting mechanic, didn't get to far though. Controls felt really floaty.

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:26am

Fun graphics and probably the best story I've seen so far :D

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:28am

Very good interpretation of the theme. There is definitely some challenge in the top level!

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:31am

Really really like the graphics and style. Well done.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:49am

This was a good use of the theme. I got stuck where you had to move both characters at the same time, in a time limit. That was hard.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Great idea and brilliantly executed! Just fix that one bug, and it will be perfect! :)

Robinerd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Wow, this was amazing! Impossible to stop playing until I finished. And the narrative was so beautiful and different :) Also, I laughed at the grey ending, well done!

Robinerd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Oh and I'm curious, is this an intentional "bi" coming out of the wardrobe thing? Very good in any case :)

Donar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:10pm

@Robinerd: The "bi" is just used because it means "two" and you control "two Bobs". It just sounded good to me, because as a german I pronounce it like "Bebop". There is nothing more to the "bi" in the title ;)

Now that I think of it, it almost seems like "coming out", because of the rainbow colored background - but no, I'm not gay or bi (Not that there would be anything wrong with that).

Altourus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Same as others in regards to getting stuck, but definitely a good concept

samooJAM says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:51am

Aww sucks that you're not allowed to fix those bugs. This is one reason why everyone should let(or force) people to play test before the combo is over. However the idea is working and pretty unique. I love the medieval style music and the subtitles were great.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:35am

I like the way of storytelling! Good job!

Vainglorious says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:09am

Nice storytelling, and I like the worlds for each changing as you progress through. Not a fan of the top Bob being upside down, though. Think it made things a bit more difficult than it needed to be. A solid entry, either way.

mrjohnson22 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:22am

Nice job, this was tricky! It never got too difficult or cryptic, though (the only time I got stumped was when I didn't know that the purple block can be pushed). There was a nice mix of puzzles & platforming (the white platform section was great!) and there was always some new challenge ahead to keep things fresh all the way through. The little story was a nice touch, too!

joseadrian says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:16am

I think it was a little bit hard to control, as someone said, floaty. but the idea is a good one. Nice work!

Shivur says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:22am

Good idea and narrative.

kaa says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Good idea!

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Fantastic! I really cant think of anything to say that needs to be added because it was just a story. Original, and the sound was great.

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:05pm

I got stuck on the wrong end of the first door with the timed buttons. There should probably be earlier checkpoints, when you can fail the puzzles. I like the concept, clever idea!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Nice game but it didnt fit on my screen so it was really hard to play :/ I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/3H1YVzN-nuA

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:31am

Got stuck at the two doors conundrum. Great take on the theme, decent graphics and audio, and brilliant storytelling. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]