Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Trade Inc.

by Maxxim - Jam Entry

Space Trade Inc. - We connect worlds!


You have started a space trading company.

Buy a first ship and set a route. When it earned some money you can upgrade the ship or buy a new one.

By delivering goods to planets you are helping to terraform them. It also increases the profits.

Good Luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#72Theme(Jam)3.84
#171Mood(Jam)3.52
#186Overall(Jam)3.50
#204Audio(Jam)3.43
#261Innovation(Jam)3.24
#268Fun(Jam)3.24
#395Graphics(Jam)3.36
#508Humor(Jam)2.09

Comments

laremere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:43pm

There's a lot of cool technology in this entry, with the planets being terraformed, and the ship building. However the gameplay isn't too interesting. It seems the best strategy would be to build lots of cheap ships, but that's just repetitive. Also, since planets make more money the more you trade with them, it seems the best idea is to just set up a lot of ships going between the same two planets. If there were resources that planets either produced in certain quantities, or needed in other quantities, the game would be much more interesting. Overall impressive technology for the timeframe though, good job!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:54am

Nice music! It was also nice of you to include a mute button, even though I did not need it.

The tech is cool, but a "winning" goal and maybe some reasons to expand and upgrade could probably improve it further. :)

cstack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:55am

Great theme. Cool idea. But it takes too long to earn money and it gets boring. The scrolling is also a little janky.

naksrifati says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:53am

This game has a lot of potantial. The amont of content is now too small, to call it an awsome game, but I real like it, you shud make tomthing big out of it. The music is great, very meditative.

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:01am

Nice!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:21am

Cool!!

voxel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:30am

nice and atmospheric, can really appreciate where you were going with this. Think you'll be able to work on it a little more in the future?

brookman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:34am

Awesome! Best entry I have played so far.
It's an advanced concept for a jam. I like the blocky style and I was motivated to play quite some time.

The balancing could be improved, but for the time frame it's impressive.
I had some bugs where ships get stuck inside the planet. In one instance the trade route was corrupted so that the planet started trading with itself and the money shot up. See here: http://i.imgur.com/bWsSB5y.png

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:38am

I like the mood. Gameplay is pretty clear to understand, but at the beginning you have to wait too long to build second ship.

CoolIron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:41am

Great one! I even would call it awesome! I think you should continue work on it and make something even more great :)
Only one thing that bothers me is that all planets are equal and there is no point to fly long distances. Or maybe I just can't see it. Anyway, great job!

nataku92 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:45am

Cool stuff. Really like the overall idea, but it suffers from a slow start and lack of challenge.

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:35am

Great idea and well executed, though a little slow to begin with

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:57am

I very much enjoyed playing this in the background while I was working, but it doesn't really have enough going on to hold my full attention for very long. I hope you'll expand on it, it's a cool demo ;)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Impressive work! Love the ship-builder :)

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:20am

This has so much potential. How the heck did you do this in 72 hours? Just... damn. Wow.

Amazing submission. Audio is great. CUSTOM SHIP BUILDING?! Great work.

Aevek says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:46am

I played this one for well over an hour. Most of my evening gone to one game! Seriously cool, once I stopped myself from just trading between two planets. I would love to see this taken further, possibly with a resource chain system similar to that of openTTD? A bit more art and some more depth to the gameplay and you've got one hell of a game. Awesome, awesome job.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Space Trade Inc. is a nice little passive game. There is not a whole lot of content and it's not the most innovative idea out there. But, the game has a really nice soothing soundtrack which complements the passive game play and the 3D voxel art graphics are a nice touch.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]