Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Conquest

by unnamed1334 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Take control of all the planets!

Click on the game once loaded to bring up the level select.
Controls can be found under the first level(The one in the uppermost right corner).
To send ships hit the upper left button(the one with the two white circles) then click on the planet you want to send them to.
To make ships, click on the bottom buttons to make, from left to right: Simple ships, Tank ships, AoE ships.
Ships take 5 seconds to build each.
Planets can queue up to five ships to be built.


Thanks to the greater power of coffee, I was able to get a web player running for the game and make some text for this space.

This is my first time entering a Ludum Dare. So... You can imagine how that went.

There are lots up bugs, to many to list let alone fix while staying within the rules. So apologies in advance, I understand completely if you rate poorly for it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#600Theme3.20
#742Graphics2.82
#810Innovation2.82
#860Fun2.69
#1006Overall2.71
#1907Coolness24%

Comments

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Check out itch.io for hosting you can just upload the unity file from the web build output and it should just work :)

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:38am

Hello - the world you've built seems really cool. I think this could be a really enjoyable game, but I can't figure out how the controls work. I don't know what the icons mean on the 6 buttons, and none of them seem to do anything, at least fast enough for me to tell which button did what. Two of the buttons even seem to have the same icon (the circular thing).

Perhaps adding some mouseover text to the buttons could make it more clear. Or some indicator that clicking a button is causing something else to happen. They're obviously doing something, since no ships pop out if I don't click anything.

Anyway, I see a lot of potential here. I hope you keep working on it.

unnamed1334 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:24am

@TrickFishPie Thanks for trying to help. I did manage to get a web player working using Google Drive.

@stephenhaney Yep, I waited way to long to add a sane UI and ended up running out of time. The two buttons with circles don't even do anything.

I am planning on making a update once the competition is over that, at the very least, gets rid of some bugs and adds slightly saner UI.

Bernte says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Love this kind of mechanics. It*s actually a bit weird to orbit camera with wasd, would rather like to use the mouse. But meh. Pretty Nice Game!

Capitals says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:05pm

It did require tool-tips so that I could be sure on what I was pressing did!

Artamus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Nice game, congrats!

ajopart says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:15am

Nice concept. Just need polishing. Keep going on !

kyru says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Good start for a game but needs some more polish and a better idea of what is going on.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]