Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Reminisce

by nikki93 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

--- RUNNING ---

Make sure your drivers are up to date since I use OpenGL 3.2.

OS/X:
Unzip, then double click 'run.command' in the resulting directory.

Windows:
Unzip, then double click 'cgame.exe' in the resulting directory.
You may need to install the Visual Studio 2013 redistributable (http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784).


--- ABOUT ---

My first LD entry, and my first 'complete' game made with cgame, the game engine I've been working on since December (find it here: https://github.com/nikki93/cgame). I had a great time making this!

It's kind of a dungeon crawler with puzzle elements. The elements are simple -- a monster that follows you, crates you can push, and so on. There are multiple worlds you can jump between through portals. The portals have the same relative location in different worlds. When you leave a world, time pauses, then resumes when you come back.

The story is something about you going into your mind and seeing good and bad memories, hence the title.


--- EDITING ---

The game runs on the cgame engine which allows real-time editing. Press Ctrl+E at any time during the game to enter the editor. It doesn't always work right though because of a few quick hacks I did near the deadline. I'll write more documentation on it soon but for now this could give you hints on editor keys: https://github.com/nikki93/cgame/blob/master/data/script/cgame/edit_binds.lua


--- THANKS ---

Big thanks to everyone behind the tech I used: OpenGL, C, Lua, LuaJIT, bump.lua, serpent.lua, LuaJIT FFI reflection library, GLFW, Gorilla Audio, stb libs, GLEW, Pyxel, cfxr, and a bunch more. Thanks to the Ludum Dare community for organizing this, everyone on #ludumdare, especially hdon who I've had a lot of conversations with about cgame. :) And of course, thanks you guys for playing/rating!


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#519Humor2.38
#534Fun3.07
#724Theme3.00
#788Overall2.97
#806Audio2.20
#817Innovation2.81
#829Mood2.67
#873Graphics2.59

Comments

cardboard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:09am

The level design could have been better, as there was one part where luring the creature into a certain position took a long time. Also, some music would have been nice to add to the atmosphere. Other than that, the art is very nice and the puzzles are challenging and fun.

Pheonise says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Great game! Suits the theme pretty perfectly, and the fact that you can just jump into the editor at run-time is just incredible to me.
Awesome job!

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Got stuck a couple of times, but overall I loved the gameplay and style of this game. Great work!

Skills641 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:04pm

"Unable to start application" Can't play the game.

nikki93 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:11pm

@Skills641: Oops! Which platform? If Windows, could you try running after installing vcredist (http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784)? If you tried that, might be an OpenGL/drivers update issue?

gaarlicbread says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:36pm

This is awesome. I like the way the puzzle elements fit in well with the dungeon crawler feel. I thought was stuck once but realized I was just learning some new puzzle mechanics.

I took a quick look at your cgame github repo. It sounds promising. I'm a fan of C + Lua! I'd love to see more docs on that. Right now I don't know what to read to learn about how to use it, or to know what it's capable of. The in-game editor looks cool, although it crashed on me.

Overall, excellent work.

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:02am

Couldn't open the program on windows

nikki93 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:09am

@gaarlicbread: Thanks a lot for the nice words! Yeah cgame needs to be documented... The in-game editor crashes on this game because of some last-minute Ludum Dare hacks, but in the master branch it should work nicely (activated by pressing 'E'). There's some examples in 'test/' but even those are not often idiomatic. I will write tutorials/docs soon! Meanwhile you could check out the paper and poster: http://www.princeton.edu/~sigatapu/cgame-progress.html

@IsaacL.Balogh: Oh no! What is was the error you got?

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:39am

OS/X version worked great. Very nice game! I'm impressed with the engine-- seems to work very well. No glitches as far as I could tell. Graphics were meh but that's not really the point of the exercise, obviously. The gameplay was actually FUN! And I liked your take on the theme. The editor made no sense to me but that's okay. Thanks for submitting, it was interesting!

phaser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:02am

Very intuitive, not very original but some people like me always enjoy this kind of game. I like the part when you have to trick your enemy into open you the gate. I wish there was a button to go back to the checkpoint when i f**** up. I like it

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:28pm

it's cool/crazy that you're making your own game engine, the runtime editing is a neat idea. well done.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Some nice wee brainteasers in here, nicely done! (managed to get over the 2-block gap with one crate though... I'm guessing I'm not supposed to be able to do that?) :D

nikki93 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:41pm

@DustyStylus: So I thought about it a bit and tried... Turns out you can do it without any crates at all. D:

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Great puzzle game :D

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:08am

Props to GaarlicBread for giving me the clue that I needed to continue playing this game. However, I managed to get myself stuck immediately afterward, because I had previously moved a crate way too far up and can no longer undo.

After a quick re-run through this game, I see some decent potential for it. Desperately needs music though.

gnx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Really devilish and well designed puzzles. I like the graphics and there's a lot of design in the enemies and environment that gives the game a lot of personality :)

jordanbloemen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:44am

Nice work with the editor

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:30am

Liked the puzzles. Liked the art. Liked the concept. Good game!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:48am

Very nice little puzzler. :)

jprogman says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:07am

I got an error saying it's missing MSVCR120.DLL. Fortunately, I got the file online and placed it next to the EXE and it runs perfectly.

There should be a better checkpoint where I can easily restart. While it's nice to continue where I had last entered a portal, a false move after I entered a portal would be memorized. Thus, having me to restart the entire game. I like to suggest a simple check point where I can safely fall back to when I mess things up.

The game is cleverly done. Nice work!

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:22pm

collisions need a little work but other than that real fun hope you finish

dancingmad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:37pm

I didn't understand how i could go though the level where there are 3 portals (the one is your 1st screenshot). Care to explain ?

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:00pm

pretty good, found it a bit difficult to trick the red thingy into opening the door :)

nikki93 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:23am

@dancingmad: A clue: When you enter a portal, time pauses in the world that you left. It resumes when you come back.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Nice Concept! I included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/oHxpkDX49XQ

dancingmad says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:33pm

@nikki93: ah thanks, i found the solution :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]