Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Journey to the 5th Planet - My first Ludum Dare!

by KevRevDev - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I am proud to present my first Ludum Dare game - Journey to the 5th Planet!

While being my first Ludum Dare game, it is also my first attempt at making any sort of game music. I tried really hard to make something upbeat but everything came out kind of creepy, so I just went with it.

I also learned that planets are pretty hard to draw.

I used Unity3D, Ragepixel, Bfxr, and pxtone to create this game.

Just put up builds for Windows, OS/X, and Linux. Let me know if any of them have problems.

Controls:

Left/Right Arrow - Move Left/Right
Space - Jump; Double Jump


Fluff Text:

Once every 300 years The 5 Planets perfectly align, opening up portals between adjacent planets. You are an explorer who wants to travel across all 5 planets and see what's on the final one.
But be careful, each planet has its own unique gravity and weather, so you must be prepared for anything on your travels. Keep your eyes out, and you may even find other explorers or locals hidden among the planets' terrain.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#366Fun3.26
#551Humor2.33
#676Overall3.09
#707Mood2.81
#758Theme2.94
#771Graphics2.77
#840Audio2.14
#1005Innovation2.47
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

Donar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Nice that you attempted to make the music yourself. The loop is very short and gets annoying fast but I appreciate that you tried to do it yourself.

It's a nice and simple little platformer. Not over the top but I liked it anyways.

BillToWin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34am

I'm not a fan of platformers in general but your level design was solid. The different resolution of the pixel art assets is jarring. As for the music, a much easier tool to use that I've had a lot of sucess with is Bosca Ceoil http://distractionware.com/blog/2013/08/bosca-ceoil/, try it out and I guarantee you that the next time you're music will come out as expected.

Artamus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:45am

Nice game, congrats!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:17pm

There definitely was some effort put into this game, but it's much more frustrating than it should be. Part of this is that the level design (particularly in the blue levels) is a bit too reliant on leaps of faith. It's also fairly nonintuitive that contact with animals is fatal; jumping on a blue cockroach isn't usually lethal.

The music gets very frustrating fast because you only have a five second loop, not to mention it's not very well-made. Add this to the weird retro sound effects and the audio becomes very annoying very fast.

My favorite thing about this game is the backgrounds; it's cool that you can see the next stage in the background of the current one, and it's a nice touch that brings home that the worlds really are interconnected.

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:28am

nice job!

Stepwise says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:34am

There were some great plays with the double-jump. The gravity changing was pretty cool and it would have been really interesting to have that as the core mechanic of the game - having the same controls, but different world physics in each case. Don't know if it would have worked, but I enjoyed the floatiness of the later worlds. :) Got stuck later on though, with the jumping bug level. I think I reached a shaft where you had to angle a jump arc trajectory perfectly and I kept dying over and over. :(

KevRevDev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:47am

@Stepwise The gravity changing is the core mechanic, each of the 4 worlds have different environments that effect your movement (minus the first one). And I think I know which part you are talking about, it may not be obvious but you can walk off platforms and keep both of your jumps. So to get through that spot just walk off into the shaft and then use both jumps to get around.

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Audio got annoying fast, otherwise the game was solid. I liked the implementation of the double-jump mechanic, and the game had great level-design to challenge the player's thinking. Well-done!

Graphics were generally good, but I don't know why the terrain textures kept changing their sizes. Made it look a bit inconsistent.

Great effort!

Logan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:30am

I kinda didn't think much of the game at first, but the platforming ends up really solid for how simple it is. I like how you played the strengths of the different planets' qualities. Though following the low-grav blue planet with the high-grav red one is a bit cruel. Just when you've gotten used to the floatiness...

Is there a hidden dude in each of the planets? I only found two.

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Good platformer, though the music gets pretty repetitive quickly. The graphics are good, and the other sounds are good. Level design is nice too, but it plays pretty slowly.

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Very nice first entry, well done! The collision seemed slightly off, and I got annoyed when trying to jump over some wooden spears. For a platformer, it's really important to have very precise controls.

I liked the "death" animation a lot. Spooked him good :D

Nice job.

geekygenius says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:17pm

That's a fun platformer. I couldn't get past the beginning part of the second world though, Jumping through the spikes was too hard for me.

banana4life says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:48am

The music is really annoying after a while. Otherwise great job and nice idea.

voxel says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:17pm

The music loop did get old fast, but it wasn't too annoying. Loved the hit sprite, and the level backgrounds are ART and should be in a gallery. Liked this a lot :)

Sestren says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 1:57am

This was a really fun entry. The level design was excellent, offered an excellent but not too-frustrating challenge, and some of those jumps were just fun to pull off.

Sheepolution says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:46am

I'm impressed, the game is pretty big for something in 48 hours. I liked the variations of each planet. The graphics weren't the best, but I did like the audio. Good job!

x1212 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Nice plattformer, would be nice if the line that kills you when falling down too far was visible.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]