Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Holiday Nightmare

by KingBolonzo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Got a web version but i don't know how or where to put it lol its in HTML5 so any suggestions would rule!

Put up an improved version people said it was too hard so i made it easier(the improved is zoomed out better)

IF ANYONE CAN NOT PLAY GAME VIDEOS ARE HERE:
VID # 1 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mdhJnIYf5Vo
vID # 2 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6LJtnWolp4w&feature=youtu.be (first vid is complete game 2nd one is more focused on gameplay)

I put up a pic of the world map in case people get lost or dont think its related to the connected worlds theme.

IF YOU THINK THIS GAME IS TOO HARD MY WIFE BEAT IT IN 5 MINUTES HAHA. Just get the carrots in the first room(multi-portal) and freeze a portal to enter the next level. DONT EVER GO BACK INTO THE MAIN ROOM!! U WIll GET SLAUGHTERED!! Use the outside portals to goto next world rather than going back into the multi portal level. Its fun to stay in the main room and fight everyone to pay it as a survival type game

OBJECTIVE:
The game is a snowman who kills Santa and other holiday figures using his ice breath and a flamethrower. There are 4 worlds connected by a middle level the 4 outside levels represent the seasons the center room connects all 4 seasons. Collect 10 carrots to unlock ending portal to take you to the credits screen. If you get hit you will have to collect all carrots again. Snowballs on back are health.

Controls:
Mouse left shoots fire
Mouse right shoots ice breath
Arrow key movement
Player faces mouse direction
Hit Flame man with Ice only hitting him with fire will melt his ice


Finally time to sleep. Wish I had more time. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#344Humor2.70
#734Audio2.36
#979Theme2.54
#1030Mood2.29
#1062Fun2.36
#1068Graphics2.22
#1099Innovation2.26
#1133Overall2.44

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:14am

Hi there. Your web link does not point at a playable game but at an upload service.

DrCicero says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:21am

Well, the page looks a bit confusing, but i found a download link in the middle. I then tried to run it, but i only could hear the music as my graphics card+wine (linux) does not like gamemaker, sorry.

@KingBolonzo Please name the link 'Windows' not 'Web'.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:30pm

It's "Windows", not "Web".

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:37pm

all fixed its on windows now instead of web lol just click on downoad in filedropper thats where the exe was uploaded

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Haha, this is great. I love the art style ;D

I liked your interpretation of the theme. Despite the simple concept, I felt a clear difference between the worlds that you went to.

tom_maclaren says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:10pm

one word...Dude!!!! Its awesome really, really fun. Definitely the best yet by far. The art was great coulda used more sound fx. Liked the Santa Clause fireworks and the ice breath. Im keeping your game on my computer forever. MUHAHAHAHAA!!! AMAZING JOB DUDE BTW was that fuking Gamemaker

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:12pm

thanks a lot guys its actually my first game too. and yes it was made in fucking gamemaker haha

YSelf Tool says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Controls are confusing, standard would be that the forward arrow moves you in the direction you are pointing, not directly upwards.
The possibility to walk out of the visible area is confusing.
The projectiles are fast and appear late on the screen, displaying just a small area.
I like the graphics.
The music in very repititive, but that's ok and better than no music.

jojocanard says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Very very hard or maybe I am very bad at it. I don't really see what it has to do with the theme. But still fun to play and listen. Nice for a first try.

Cash says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Not bad,it's simple but fun,the graphics are not really the best but still enjoyable. Good job

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:36pm

FOR THOSE UNSURE OF THE THEME
the worlds are all connected in the middle like a link between 4 seasons winter is top left fall is top right spring bottom left and summer bottom right like this:
winter fall
center
spring summer

Thanks for commenting

jomomomo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Arg can't play windows games.

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Mouse and arrow keys is not a good control scheme. Use WASD if mouse is necessary.
Way too difficult and I didn't really get what the goal was. Might have been interesting with more polish.

jpcote says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Good game, have you done all the sprite by hand ? Nice controls, but I didn't found any health indication...

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:50pm

snoballs on back of flamethrower is health all sprites were made in gamemakers on board paint tools

Gaeel says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Download link didn't work for me...

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:33pm

PUT UP VIDS 4 PPL WHO CANT PLAY WINDOWS GAMES!! And lazy ppl... cant leave them out.

elefantopia says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Fun game to play as snowman with flamethrower! Birds-eye view of Santas and turkeys is interesting. Nice upbeat music :)

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:24am

Hilarious, loved the turkey skeleton!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:34am

Cool theme concept :)

Shivur says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:48am

Original idea, but the projectiles of ennemies went to fast for the speed of the snowman so it's impossible to avoid them.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:53am

Movement could have felt a little better. Perhaps faster? I also felt a little weak/or it's too hard. The audio loop was good but got old quickly.

I like your interpretation of the theme and fitting game name.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:38am

Fun take on the theme, but as someone else pointed out, movement is a little confusing - I expect the up arrow to generally mean 'forwards' in whatever direction my character is facing, not 'up'. :)

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:19pm

hey guys the reason the game is sooo hard is because its supposed its a nice change of pace from most of the games ive played on here so far id say people have been making their games more relaxing...In my opinion thats not fun i want non stop action if you play it a little you will get better the idea is to get out of that first level as soon as possible

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:22pm

The controls were set up that way because it is too difficult to not be able to side step i didn't wanna overwhelm people with buttons. especially on a keyboard.

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Thanks for all the input guys i will definitely use al the info when I revamp the game. THANKS AGAIN EVERYONE

Benjamin says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Fun shooter. I found it a bit difficult but it gets esier once you start to hold left & right for maximum damage.
I think some sfx and invulnerability timer when you get hit would make the death sequence less messy.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:14pm

I hereby name this game bizzaro-gauntlet... weird little game but the randomness cracked me up. Nice work!

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:26pm

haha i like it bizzaro gauntlet lol

bluesky says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Nice game Love the gameplay.

rhaasken says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Extremely difficult! It is also unclear why my character kept teleporting around.

I liked the burnt enemies graphics.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:44am

Well that.. was something. XD Had a bit of fun for the time I played it. I think it's a little too easy to die, though. :P Still, would play again. :P

And videos, in my opinion, are not the solution for those who can't play the game. The dev should make ports. That's a more proper solution.

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:23am

The Character teleports around to collect carrots. Honestly I ran out of time and had to make a finished product ASAP. Original idea was to have to go into each season(fall,winter, spring, summer) then have more portals inside connecting each month. From there you would enter each month and destroy the machine that is producing holiday nightmare's for that specific month hence the name.

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:51am

Anyone having a hard time beating it I have 1 suggestion: in the first level get the carrots then GET THE FUCK OUTTA THERE!! so basically u can just walk around and kill shit or u stay in the first level like a survival game thats the way I play it.

Rehacked says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:38am

any web version ?

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:55am

No web yet i gotta buy the game maker html export and I am poor poor poor Ill try before the dares over its def a great investment now. Sorry

RaycoSantana says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:31am

Love the art style!

Chaoseiro says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:15pm

It is interesting, but very hard :P
maybe making the snowman faster?

whilefun says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:10pm

This game is super hard! I kept getting my butt handed to me. Interesting interpretation of the theme. I liked that there were two firing modes.

Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:55pm

I liked the take on the Connected Worlds theme, reminded me of Nightmare Before Christmas. The skeletons of burnt enemies was a nice touch, and I liked the overall insanity of it.

(Also if you're still doing videos I'd love you to give mine a go, it looks way better in motion that on screenshots. Thanks)

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:28am

Not bad. A bit of the stretch to fit the theme to it, I think.

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:59am

Got a web version anyone know how to put it up I keep messing it up bad its in HTML5

kilamugen says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:52am

I love the firework effects... def the turkey skeleton!
More!!!!

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:21am

If its too hard click improved its actually better anyway

Endurion says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:30am

Weird in a good way :)

And quite hard if you don't spam both buttons where it works. I like the little touch of elemental resistance.

cardboard says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:09pm

the download links have died a mysterious death

cardboard says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:29am

I think WASD or ESDF would as the movement controls would make the hand placement of the player less awkward. The art is quirky (in a good way) and all of the special effects (fireworks, snow, etc) are nice touches. The Winter world enemies seemed too overpowered to me, compared to all the other enemies; they fired quick projectiles rather rapidly and seemed to spawn quicker. A counter for how many carrots have been obtained would have made the player's progress more visible and tangible. The variety present in the different enemies and worlds is very nice. Oh, and the snowballs representing the player's health is a nice touch. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]