Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Jet Runner

by Pavel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game, you will travel different worlds which are connected to each other by star gates. You will experience respawnable enemies and gravitation anomaly. As a Jet Runner, you have to reach the last world, get a cure package and return it to your home planet. The star gates must be built first. They also need power supplies.

Do not forgot your gun and jet pack.
Good luck!

Controls: Left, Right, Up, Down, Space

Linux and OSX build: I do not know if they work. I haven't tested them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#699Fun2.88
#740Humor2.08
#742Graphics2.82
#829Mood2.67
#833Audio2.16
#839Overall2.93
#903Theme2.68
#1074Innovation2.33

Comments

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:32pm

When I tried to start playing, it changed to fullscreen and then went blank. It looks cool, but I can't rate it cause I can't run it. Hopefully nobody else gets this issue!

JosephLittle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:33pm

That was pretty fun!
I liked the difficulty and platforming but the controls were quite awkward and some of the enemies were really hard to see.
Great Entry!

clofresh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Couldn't figure out how to get the jetpack. :( Is it because my keyboard doesn't have a right control? (OSX)

muriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Interesting gravity effect.

ZirconCode says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Nice consistent graphic style, loved it! Good amount of content too.

A bit slow movement relative to the enemies, the momentum was interesting but took away from the gameplay imo.

p.s. it was left control instead of right control for me =)

TD5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Fun and quite challenging. What did you use to make this game?

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Fun arena arcade type game with a story. The enemy spawning and behavior in general were annoying to deal with (when I died it felt like I was unlucky rather than felling as if I did something wrong).

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Fun and well designed. However, the controls were not as responsive as I would have liked them to be. I also feel it would be better for players to have an option to choose whether they want to play in fullscreen.

marvalgames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Nice work but game is forcing full screen?? Not good.
This is retro squared. Atari 2600 :) but fun. Maybe speed up the controls. Game is too hard for me. Great details and fun graphics.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:42pm

I think the enemies need to be toned down a bit but I like not starting with any of your items and having to struggle a bit. I had to plug in an eternal keyboard to my laptop to play though. Maybe use z or x instead of Right Control?

Ventura says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Yeah! I got the level 2!. I like the jet pack!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:43pm

The graphics needs a bit more polishing, but it's fun to play small game.

Jvdo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Awesome and consistent graphics, as well as fitting sound effects. I also like the mood/setting quite a bit.

It feels a bit like any other platformer/shooter.
Perhaps it's intentional but the controls felt really sluggish and unresponsive, which, in my opinion, made the game less fun to play.

Small bug: the highscore keeps adding up after you died.

skullum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:47pm

I can proudly say I've finished the first level, but due to the game's unfair difficulty I'm afraid I couldn't get past the second.

Pavel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Hi all! Thank you for your kind comments. The game was created using Unity, Photoshop, Pyxel Edit, SFX.

I will improve player responsivnes. It is based on physics, so there is acceleration, drag etc. But definitely, it can be improved.

I will also change the fire button. I didn't know that OSX doesn't have CTRL:)

I am used to play in fullscreen on the desktop, but I will turn it off and let player to decide.

Considering making several difficulty levels:)

owyoow says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Nice game. Quite hard as it took me quite a while to get past level 1. It did miss music in the game

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Cool game, the floaty-ness of the player reminded me of Joust. Really fun. :)

igoramendola says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:24pm

I reached level 3, then the level was turned upside down and the character started to move frantically hahaha and I died right away. My best is 7500 so far.
I liked the idea of picking up parts to assemble the portal. It's kind of hard, but after playing a few times, I get used to the controls. Cool game, also nice art ;)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:14pm

I feel like the theme of connected worlds could have been used better it just seems like more about the level progression than actually being built into the design of the game itself. Nevertheless it was a fun game to play.

geekygenius says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:07pm

It's cool to see a platformer, there doesn't seem to be many of them this time. I wasn't able to get to the second world though, I got one of the portal shards, then I couldn't find any others.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Challenging but pretty fun! The controls feel odd at times, as if I'm sliding around too much, but it wasn't too much of a detriment. I liked that I had to piece together my jetpack.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Nice little game - unfortunately jetpack bugged out for me and wouldn't work but still fun to play!

tiff says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:23am

That was fun, I really enjoyed it. Thanks!

John Drury says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Very challenging game.

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Yours is a nice idea too! Pretty hard though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]