Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Well... I've made something...

by prof - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE
Ok, got some sleep) time for bug fixing)
-"sky" now scrolls properly
-trade/attack now should tigger without problems
-fixed missing sounds

UPDATE #2
Added x64 version, now attack trade should work if you have x64 system. I hope.

UPDATE #3
Yes, finding anything is a *****. Ok, I've made everything closer (I'm not sure if rebalancing is allowed by rules though)

I was plannig make some pong game... In the end I've got some trading/exlore/space/wtf simulator. WHY?

By looking at comments, i guess i need how to play section...

Q - Buy stuff
E - Attack stuff)
(Both work only at close distane)

Battle is turn-based with instant result(screenshot)

WASD, arrows - moving, of course

Features:
what i did make
-AI trading system (transports flying from planet to planet delivering stuff)
-Simple economic system(richer planets will sell/buy more stuff for better price, also random taxes)
-Simple battle(you can raid transport ships)
-3 game endings(game overs obviously)
-Upgrade system for ship
-Food/fuel

what i didnt make(due time limit)
-Actual economic
-Actual battle
-Actual game ending/purpose
-Radar (good luck finding anything)
-GUI
-Animations
-Ship variations
-Piracy
-Stuff i forgot

Damned deadlines
Be careful with source, its ugliest code i have written for the past 5 years

Unity, cgMusic, sfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#375Audio3.00
#728Humor2.10
#899Mood2.57
#1043Theme2.37
#1067Innovation2.35
#1114Fun2.19
#1144Graphics2.04
#1153Overall2.38

Comments

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:47pm

This was weird, but fun!

ZirconCode says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Q and E didn't work for me. Roamed in space until ran out of fuel/food. Did see a red ship zoom by though. Also enjoyed the audio =)

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:54pm

I didn't find anything around..Just a spaceship flying around an empty space...

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Music was nice and calming.

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:25pm

This was cool, had a great mood. Great job!

muriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53pm

good job, continue this way :)

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Those instruments always remind me of Monkey Island. ;)
The people on those planets are starving. Nowhere food to buy.

anserran says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Not sure if I played it correctly, Q and E neither worked for me, didn't find anything but space... Music made me enjoy the flight, though.

sez says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Wow, it's hard to find anything! The shooting lacks feedback (bullets, recoil, flares, impact) Now with that out of the way, I did like the setting and the mood and you did a good job of setting up shops. I just couldn't find my way back to the other planet, so I starved to death...

kyru says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Trading is a good way to use the theme. Could use some work as you mentioned already. Music was kind of medieval bard-y but fit with trading.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Funny game, but I'm not sure what it's about exactly, it was a rather decent game though.

Skywilly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:49am

It's not the must beautiful game of this LD but is really fun & smart ! Good job ;)

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Music was perfect made the whole mood of the game awesome keep up the great work

Acuity says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:40am

The music was pretty decent. I liked the overall concept, but couldn't figure out how to get more money so I can upgrade my ship.

prof says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 10:41am

Acuity:
By trading, thats the whole point of the game

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]