Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connectris

by Amvere - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare submission! Connectris is a very simple matching game. You score points by matching 4 blocks of the same color. Blocks can be transported between the *connected worlds* :p by clicking on them. Full instructions are ingame!

To run on Linux/Mac, you will need LOVE (http://love2d.org).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#185Innovation3.68
#334Fun3.30
#609Theme3.19
#725Audio2.38
#731Overall3.04
#882Mood2.60
#1046Graphics2.27
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

Adjotur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Wow that was difficult. Neat idea, I liked it after starting to get the hang of it.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:51am

Not quite like the old tetris, but I guess that's the point :)

Animated says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:56am

Very fun! Tough, but creative

Animan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:13am

Man, that was crazy! It's like Zoop, Columns, and Tetris sorta rolled into this bizarre mess of a puzzle game, yet I love it! That clicking sound still resonates in my head... My only suggestion would be to show the tutorial sometime before the game begins.

buckslice says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:14am

Got to level 4 but then it was too fast for me lol. Fun idea though and well executed!

gnx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Cool idea. It is a bit hard reading the tutorial while the game is already going, but once you get the hang of it it seems like there could be a lot of depth to this.

Minimalistic visual and audio presentation do the job.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:43am

Pretty difficult but fun!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:47am

Nice idea. Would make for a good mobile game.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:51am

Fun game. Gets pretty tough later on!

Stepwise says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:27am

Mind bending but cool! A pretty awesome mishmash of all the different kinds of block puzzlers and a good line with the theme. Kind of wished I could just hit one button to move the blocks instead of clicking on them though!

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:35am

Very interesting concept, and fun. I enjoyed it. If you could expand on this with better graphics and some music, I think it could be a very fun concept.

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Interesting spin on Tetris. Pretty challenging but fun to play. With a little more polish it would probably do well.
I feel like it would play better on mobile, where touching is easier to aim than the mouse.

Conk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:21pm

I'm a boss! Really cool idea, 5 for innovation (:

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Original idea, got a bit hectic fast!

Tosic says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:29am

Nice puzzle, but yeah it is fast, but that is not bad :D

tiff says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Really cool idea!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]