Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Jackal

by jesterswilde - Jam Entry

You are the Jackal
Return the refugees to the extraction zone
Do not be seen



Made by Ryan V Sand and Corey Wolff

Controls:

Space bar to open houses (red ones only)

Left-Click to get refugees to follow

Right-Click to get refugees to stay

Left-Click and hold to get a few refugees to follow

E to scatter the refugees if you get stuck

Return to the extraction zone with the refugees.

You are The Jackal.

Extract the refugees

Do not get seen

Return them to the extraction zone (where you began.)

___
Note: The connected world theme didn't make it through as much as we would have liked due to time constraints. The starting area (the extraction zone) was supposed to look drastically different than the area where the refugees are. The refugee area also didn't get a chance to be bombed out and full of rubble.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#266Mood(Jam)3.31
#295Graphics(Jam)3.58
#413Humor(Jam)2.35
#423Innovation(Jam)2.97
#531Audio(Jam)2.59
#577Fun(Jam)2.68
#626Overall(Jam)2.82
#744Theme(Jam)1.83

Comments

graebor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:37am

Nice art, interesting concept though I don't really see how it relates to the theme. The descriptive text at the end for those you rescue was a cool idea.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:39am

This game is graphically amazing, but playing through it really feels more like a technical demo than an actual game. I was really curious about the Jackal character (love the model!), but the first time I played I jumped off the bridge in order to be sneaky, and... promptly ran into invisible walls with no way to get back up or restart the game. Then I went off to the houses and was unable to get them to cough up any refugees. This may have been because I was having a really hard time remembering the controls, having seen them only the one time on the starting screen with nowhere to look them up. So, all in all, it's a neat idea, if seemingly unrelated to the theme, with some needed tweaks to the execution.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Hi there. Difficult game. Love the animations and 'white box' feel.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Graphically fantastic. First 3d animations I've played in the jams yet, stealth mechanic was great but easy to get stuck in areas. Not sure how it related to the theme.

cstudios says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:11pm

the start button does not work. Maybe its just an another unity bug. did you make it with 4.6b?

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Challenging, Fun, and Artsy :)

Tanser says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Interesting game , the camera angle is a bit weird :) I like the game :) Nice animations

dancingmad says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Really a cool game! I think it needs some feedback on the refugees control (couldn't really understand when they where following me or not sometimes). Maybe the most fun I had with a game in this jam!

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:42pm

With some more time and polish this could be a hit! Agree with the others, don't see the connection to the theme at all.

Aglavra says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:11pm

And I can see the connection to a theme: there are refugees who try to move to "another world" and escape their old life... Liked the game, although it definitely needs polishing.

DarkCart says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Nice art, but like others have said, seems more like a tech demo than a real game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]